High School Sports

Kansas City high school football players selected for $1,000 scholarships

A group of 22 high school football players from Kansas and Missouri have received a $1,000 scholarship from the McCarthy Auto Group. The honors, announced by the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association, are selected based on academics, community involvement and participation on the football field. This marks the seventh year for the scholarships.

A list of the players selected:

Connor Alexander, Olathe East

Jake Bade, St. James

Chad Berg, Baldwin

Logan Brettell, Blue Valley

Brandon Clevenger, Pleasant Hill

Thomas Ganaden, Lee's Summit West

Will Garza, Louisburg

Kyle Harrison, Blue Valley Northwest

Austin Hinck, Kearney

Joshua Jacobsen, Lawson

Nick Masoner, Excelsior Springs

Ellis Moore, Raytown South

Chance Nelson, Blue Valley

Joey Neidel, Fort Osage

Jackson Newman, Staley

Kellen Shockley, Lee's Summit North

Mitchell Sloan, Paola

Mason Smith, Smithville

Ryan Smith, Mill Valley

Kyle Styve, Blue Valley Northwest

Tristan Threatt, Pembroke Hill

Kyle Wittman, Lawrence