Government & Politics

Eileen Weir is elected mayor in Independence

Voters in a number of Missouri suburbs elected mayors, city council members and aldermen on Tuesday.



With the retirement of Mayor Don Reimal, a new leader was a certainty in Independence. That will be City Council member Eileen Weir, who raised far more money than her opponent and defeated council colleague Jim Schultz.

Weir, a public relations consultant, received close to 57 percent of the vote, compared with 43 percent for Schultz, an insurance agent.

In the only contested City Council race, Scott Roberson received 66 percent of the vote, defeating incumbent Roxann Thorley.


Lee’s Summit:

Mayor Randy Rhoads won another term without opposition, but there will be three new faces on the City Council.

In the 1st District, business owner Diane Forte, with 69 percent of the vote, defeated retired banking executive Robert Dye.

In a three-way race, paralegal Trish Carlyle prevailed in the 2nd District with 36 percent of the vote, narrowly defeating Craig Faith, director of public safety at John Knox Village, who got 34 percent. Lawyer Timothy Denker trailed with just under 30 percent.

Incumbent Brian Whitley could not run because of redistricting.

In the 3rd District, consultant Diane Seif, who received 57 percent of the vote, defeated accountant and former council member Joe Spallo.


North Kansas City:

To represent the 2nd Ward on the City Council, voters selected Valerie Pearman, an insurance company officer, who received more than 53 percent of the vote. Bill Sanders, a retired partner at General Accountant Services, received almost 43 percent, while Johnathan Barnes was far back with 3 percent.

To fill the 1st Ward seat, voters selected former mayor Gene Bruns, who received more than 55 percent of the vote, while incumbent Mark Conarroe, an AT accountant manager, received more than 44 percent.



Retired school administrator R.D. Mallams won a one-year council term over Shari Le Poindexter, a full-time family caretaker. Mallams got more than 63 percent of the vote.


Excelsior Springs:

Retired school principal Sharon Powell and incumbent Ambrose Buckman were poised to serve three-year terms on the two open seats on the Excelsior Springs City Council.

Powell had received 28 percent of the vote, with Buckman also at 28 percent.

Mark Spohn, a travel agency owner, received 24 percent while incumbent Reggie St. John, a construction company order manager, was at 20 percent.


Grain Valley:

Mayor Michael Todd defeated two challengers.

Todd, an elementary school teacher, received 41 percent of the vote, while Chuck Johnston, a claims department manager, received 34 percent and Barbara Kounzman, a retired federal human resources manager, received 25 percent.

The challengers had said they wanted to curb city spending.