Miriam Pepper leads honorees from The Star at Kansas press awards

The Kansas City Star building at 1729 Grand Blvd.
The Kansas City Star building at 1729 Grand Blvd.

The Kansas City Star won dozens of awards in the 2014 Kansas Press Association Awards of Excellence contest.

In addition, Miriam Pepper, vice president/editorial page for The Star, was named winner of the Clyde M. Reed Jr. Master Editor Award. The award recognizes a Kansas newspaper editor for a lifetime of achievement that involves commitment to the community, the Kansas newspaper industry and the state.

Awards were presented Friday and Saturday in Manhattan, Kan.

The Star won first place for best use of photos.

Individuals who won first-place awards: Steve Paul, feature story; Laura Bauer and Judy L. Thomas, investigative story; Christine Vendel, government/political story; Sam Mellinger, sports story; Vahe Gregorian, sports column; Keith Myers, news photo; David Eulitt, sports photo and also photo package; Jill Toyoshiba, environmental portrait.

The Star won second place awards for sports pages and newspaper website.

Individuals who won second-place awards: Dugan Arnett, Eric Adler, Mark Morris and Dave Helling for investigative story; Adler, series; Bob Dutton, sports story; Sam McDowell, sports feature; Mellinger, sports column; Allison Long, feature photo; Eulitt, photo package and also photo illustration; Toyoshiba, environmental portrait.

Third-place awards: Mellinger, sports feature; Rich Sugg, sports photo and also environmental portrait and photo package.