Chiefs Hall of Famer Len Dawson to receive Lamar Hunt Award

Chiefs Hall of Fame quarterback

Len Dawson

will be given the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football at the 44th Annual NFL 101 Awards dinner Saturday night at the Westin Crown Center.

The award was created in 2007 to honor the life and legacy of Hunt, the founder of the Chiefs, and presented annually to an individual or group that has played a role in helping the NFL become the preeminent pro sports league in America.

“Words can’t express how grateful we are to Len for his contributions to the Kansas City Chiefs, the community and the game of football,” Chiefs chairman and CEO

Clark Hunt

said. “

Hank Stram

may have said it best when he said ‘Greatness is measured by the test of time,’ and Lenny passed that test with flying colors.

“He was an incredible leader in the huddle and an innovator off the field. His passion and knowledge for the game has led to an incredible broadcast career that Chiefs fans have enjoyed for more than three decades, and we are delighted to honor him with the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football.”

Dawson, a seven-time Pro Bowl selection, led the Dallas Texans-Chiefs franchise to three American Football League championships and two Super Bowls. He was MVP of Super Bowl IV, when the Chiefs beat the Vikings 23-7.

After his playing career, Dawson became a nationally known sportscaster. He was a host of the groundbreaking show “Inside the NFL” on HBO during 1978-2001; a game analyst for NBC for several years; served as sports director at KMBC-TV (Channel 9), starting in his playing days in 1966 to 2011; and has been the analyst for Chiefs radio broadcasts since 1985.

Dawson, 78, was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1987. In 2012, he was awarded the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Pete Rozelle Award for Radio-Television, joining

Dan Dierdorf


Frank Gifford

as the only individuals in the Hall of Fame as both players and broadcasters.

Previous winners of the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football are The Foolish Club (2008),

Tony Dungy

(2009), “Monday Night Football” (2010), NFL Films (2011),

Roger Staubach

(2012) and

Don Shula