For Pete's Sake

Golfer disqualified after hitting himself in head with his putter

In this Jan. 15, 2016 file photo, Zac Blair followed through on his drive on the 18th tee box during the second round of the Sony Open.
In this Jan. 15, 2016 file photo, Zac Blair followed through on his drive on the 18th tee box during the second round of the Sony Open. The Associated Press

It seemed like nothing more than a funny moment at the Wells Fargo Championship in Charlotte, N.C.

Zac Blair vented his frustration after missing a putt on the fifth hole of Friday’s second round, and he hit himself in the head with the putter. Blair then finished the hole and noticed that the putter was bent.

That’s not good. As Golf Digest noted, Rule 4-3b states that if you “intentionally damage a club other than during the normal course of play, it can’t be used or replaced.”

But Blair used the bent putter to finish the hole, and he was disqualified. He was at 7-over at the time and likely wouldn’t have made the cut, but he still owned up to it.

He also had some fun with it all, sharing a GIF of Woody Austin.

Pete Grathoff: 816-234-4330, @pgrathoff

  Comments