For Pete's Sake

Watch: Indiana appears to make field goal in overtime, but refs rule it no good

Here’s a close-up of the missed field goal in overtime by Indiana.
Here’s a close-up of the missed field goal in overtime by Indiana.

First, a disclaimer: this was the Pinstripe Bowl.

OK, a second disclaimer: the game was between Indiana and Duke.

The game went to overtime and Duke won 44-41 when the Hoosiers missed a field-goal attempt. But did they really miss? You make the call:

That’s not reviewable, which seems insane to say in the year 2015. Take a look at this photo:

In the NFL, a kick that goes over an upright is considered good. I’d imagine the rule is the same in the NCAA, but apparently not.

Pete Grathoff: 816-234-4330, @pgrathoff

  Comments