For Pete's Sake

Fair or foul? You make the call on the disputed ball hit by Royals’ Kendrys Morales

Tampa Bay Rays catcher Rene Rivera tagged Ben Zobrist at home during the eighth inning of Sunday’s game.
Tampa Bay Rays catcher Rene Rivera tagged Ben Zobrist at home during the eighth inning of Sunday’s game. The Associated Press

Royals designated hitter Kendrys Morales came to the plate with runners on the corner and one out in the eighth inning of Sunday’s game against the Rays.

Tampa Bay turned an unorthodox 3-2 double play after Morales hit a grounder to first base. Morales thought it was foul. The umpire said it was fair. Here is the play in question:

To reach Pete Grathoff, call 816-234-4330 or send email to pgrathoff@kcstar.com. Follow him on Twitter: @pgrathoff.

  Comments