For Pete's Sake

Dayton Moore, Alex Smith and Bill Snyder all received votes for Kansas governor

Kansas Gov. Dayton Moore?
Kansas Gov. Dayton Moore? JSLEEZER@KCSTAR.COM

Tuesday is election day in Kansas City as citizens will vote for the city council and mayor.

And there likely will be a few votes cast for area athletes. has a list of write-in votes from Johnson County ballots from last November’s election, and Gov. Sam Brownback didn’t have to sweat out a threat from Chiefs quarterback Alex Smith, Royals general manager Dayton Moore and Kansas State football coach Bill Synder.

Each of the three received a vote for governor.

Hall of Fame third baseman George Brett got a vote for the House of Representatives, while Royals announcer Rex Hudler got a vote in the U.S. Senate race.

Royals manager Ned Yost got a write-in vote in a number of races: attorney general, state treasurer, commissioner of insurance, State Senator (37th district), State Representative (8th district), the Board of Eduction and chairman of the Johnson County commissioners.

Kansas coach Bill Self received a vote for Secretary of State, State Senator (37th district), State Representative (18th district) and state Board of Education.

Royals first baseman Eric Hosmer received a vote for the Board of Education, as did former Royals DH Billy Butler.

Someone voted for catcher Salvador Perez for county commissioner and someone else cast a ballot for left fielder Alex Gordon for chairman of the Johnson County commissioners.

It’s worth noting that the election was held shortly after the Royals’ stirring World Series run.

It’s also worth nothing that these were some of the votes: box of cheez-its, my dog, MMMMMMMM, Rob Riggle, Thor, Cookie Monster, Chewbacca (missing the w), Bill Murray and Mark Ruffalo.

To reach Pete Grathoff, call 816-234-4330 or send email to Follow him on Twitter: @pgrathoff.