High School Sports

The Star’s All-Metro high school football second team, honorable mention and selection process

Bishop Miege’s Ryan Willis was chosen to the second team at quarterback on The Star’s All-Metro football team.
Bishop Miege’s Ryan Willis was chosen to the second team at quarterback on The Star’s All-Metro football team. The Kansas City Star

The Star’s All-Metro football squad


Quarterback: Ryan Willis, Bishop Miege, senior

Running back: Wyatt Edmisten, SM East, junior; Jesse McBee, Fort Osage, senior; J.D. Woods, Lawrence, junior

Offensive line: Jacob Kerns, Rockhurst, senior; Chase Latscha, Olathe South, senior; Hunter Saulsbury, Blue Valley West, senior; James Woolridge, SM East, senior; Joshua Van Dunk, Lincoln Prep, senior

Wide receiver: Zach Drake, O’Hara, senior; Dalton Schoen, Blue Valley Northwest, senior


Defensive line: Dalton Brinegar, Oak Grove, senior; Ben Ewing, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Chester Graves, Park Hill, sophomore; Sean Pahls, Piper, junior

Linebacker: Cale Garrett, Kearney, junior; Sal Silvio, Liberty North, senior; Marcel Spears, Olathe North, senior; Dylan Smith, Blue Valley, senior

Defensive back: A.J. Taylor, Rockhurst, junior; Connor Moore, St. James Academy, senior; Chase Williams, Winnetonka, senior

Kicker: Jesse Jasso, Winnetonka, senior

Punter: Blaise Gammon, Blue Valley West, senior


Quarterback: T.J. Green, Rockhurst, senior; Skylar Thompson, Fort Osage, junior

Running back: Cobi Bissell, Blue Springs, senior; Devon Bryant, Liberty, senior; James Cosentino, St. Thomas Aquinas, junior; Charlie Nihart, Smithville senior; Jordan Salima, Truman, junior; Venus Triplett, Olathe North, senior

Offensive line: Steve Anderson, Fort Osage, senior; Christian Boyles, Blue Springs South, senior; Caleb Drecktrah, Oak Grove, senior; Anthony Enriquez, Park Hill, senior; Tanner Gulick, Harrisonville, junior; Scott Hattok, Lansing, senior; Brycen Hinson, Olathe East, senior; Mitch Holsinger, Olathe Northwest, senior; Zach Pfeifer, St. Thomas Aquinas, junior; Ben Sinclair, Raymore-Peculiar, senior

Wide receiver: Jafar Armstrong, Bishop Miege, sophomore; Brenner Clemons, Lee’s Summit West, senior; Zach Mitchell, Lee's Summit, junior; Aliek Reed, Platte County, senior


Defensive line: Mazin Aql, Blue Valley, senior; Jacob Babb, Kearney, senior; Ben Harris, Raymore-Peculiar, senior; Jared Hiss, Basehor-Linwood, senior; Clay Dahman, Midway, senior; Kaelin Key, Bishop Miege, junior; Trevor Plafcan, Odessa, junior; Tucker Schlesener, Harrisonville, senior

Linebacker: Nick Gadwood, St. Thomas Aquinas, senior; Brock Hughes, O’Hara, junior; Anthony Hunt, Leavenworth, senior; Topher Kilkenny, Platte County, senior; Josh Moore, Olathe North senior; Chase Overton, Lee's Summit North, senior; Josh Tuimaseve, Fort Osage, senior; Michail Winstead, Oak Grove, senior

Defensive back: Calieb Bennett, Odessa, senior; Isaiah Macklin, SM West, senior; Austin Oard, Liberty North, senior; Jacob Pfender, Staley, senior; Jake Seurer, Olathe South, senior; Charlie White, SM East, senior

Kicker: Chris Diddle, Olathe East, junior; Dallas Hille, Raymore-Peculiar, senior

Punter: AJ Cambric, Liberty, senior; Luke Theis, Lee’s Summit West, senior


The Kansas City Star’s All-Metro selections were made by members of the high school sports staff, who consulted with coaches. An athlete must participate in at least 60 percent of the competition for which the athlete has qualified to be eligible for first-team selection and 50 percent to be eligible for second-team and honorable-mention selection.