High School Sports

State finalists dominate All-EKL girls soccer team

Blue Valley West's Shelby Christopherson (left) was selected the Eastern Kansas League’s midfielder of year after helping the Jaguars win the Kansas Class 6A state championshp.
Blue Valley West's Shelby Christopherson (left) was selected the Eastern Kansas League’s midfielder of year after helping the Jaguars win the Kansas Class 6A state championshp. Special to The Star

With three state champions and two runners-up, it was indeed a big year for Eastern Kansas League girls soccer.

Those five teams – Class 6A champion Blue Valley West, Class 5A champ Blue Valley Southwest, Class 4-1A champ Bishop Miege along with state finalists Blue Valley North in 6A and St. Thomas Aquinas in 5A – fittingly dominate the EKL All-Conference first team.

BV West has four on the first team from its 19-1 squad, including defensive player of the year Molly Cummings and midfielder of the year Shelby Christopherson. Aquinas has three, including offensive player of the year Hallie Klanke, and Blue Valley North also placed three. Blue Valley Southwest has two first-teamers and Miege has one.

Alex Aiman, who guided BV West through an undefeated league season to its state title, was selected the EKL’s coach of the year. Lexi Palacio of Blue Valley is the goalkeeper of the year.

First team: Faith Branson, sr. F/MF, BV North; Gracely Briley, so. M, BV Southwest; Annie Caldwell, jr. F, St. James Academy; Shelby Christopherson, sr. M, BV West; Hania Crow, sr. D, St. Thomas Aquinas; Molly Cummings, jr. D, BV West; Hailey Freeman, sr. M, Mill Valley; Neha Igwe, sr. F, BV North; Kacey Kinley, sr. D, Mill Valley; Hallie Klanke, jr. F, St. Thomas Aquinas; Lanie Mannebach, jr. CM; Bishop Miege; Lexi Palacio, sr., GK, Blue Valley; Marissa Popoola, so. F, BV West; Haley Priest, sr. M, BV Northwest; Caroline Romme, sr. D, St, Thomas Aquinas; Maddi Runnebaum, so. M, BV North; Brooke Thomas, so. GK, BV West.

Second team: Payge Bush, jr. M, Mill Valley; Cori Carver, jr. D, Mill Valley; Lily Cook, so. D, BV North; Cassie Forcellini, so. M, BV Southwest; Brooke Hagel, sr. D, Blue Valley; Megan Homoly, jr. D, Bishop Miege; Avery Howard, jr. M, BV Northwest; Kenna Hutchinson, jr. M, Gardner-Edgerton; Emily Kramer, so. M, BV North; Kat Krishna, so. F, BV West; Alex Moss, jr. D, St. Thomas Aquinas; Marge Pigott, jr. CM, St. Thomas Aquinas; Gracie Salts, sr. M, Blue Valley; Lo Saunders, sr., M, BV Northwest; Grace Scopp, sr. D, BV West; Sophia Stram, fr. F, Bishop Miege; Anna Todd, so. M, Blue Valley; Fiona Turner, so. M, Gardner Edgerton; Michaela Weist, jr. M, St. James Academy.

Honorable mention: Evelyn Alejandre-Olivas, so. CM, Bishop Miege; Rylee Ebert, jr. D, Gardner Edgerton; Lexy Farrington, fr. D, BV North; Keely Gaeddert, sr. D, BV North; Kolbi Gonzales, jr. D, BV Southwest; Mallory Heying, jr. CM, St. Thomas Aquinas; Katelyn Heying, sr. F, St. Thomas Aquinas; Avery Higgerson, so. D, Bishop Miege; Adde Hinkle, jr. M, Mill Valley; Olivia Hogue, so. M, Gardner Edgerton; Maddison Irish, jr. D, Mill Valley; Moira Kelley, fr. CM, St. Thomas Aquinas; Peyton Kennedy, so, M, BV West; Courtney Kooken, so. D, BV Southwest; Mallory Kreuger, fr. D/M, BV North; Shelby Lierz, sr. D, BV West; Brigid Linder, sr. D, St. Thomas Aquinas; Riley Minard, jr. D, BV Southwest; Andree Orcutt, fr. D, BV West, Ella Palmer, so. M, Blue Valley; Raegan Phillips, sr. D, BV Northwest; Maea Ploetz, fr. GK, Gardner Edgerton; Anna Preuss, so. D, BV North; Avery Sanchez, so, M, Blue Valley; Caylee Thornhill, so. M, St. James Academy; Megan Wurth, jr. M, BV West.