Kyle Zimmer, Sean Manaea, Raul Mondesi headed to Instructional League for Royals

The Royals released their rosters for next month’s Instructional League, and a few interesting prospects popped up. Kyle Zimmer and Sean Manaea are both listed as pitchers for the Advanced club. Their shortstop looks to be Raul Mondesi, one of the organization’s best position-player prospects.

Zimmer, the No. 5 pick in the 2012 draft, missed the first four months of the season because of a strained latissimus dorsi muscle. The team has been using him in brief stints for Class A Idaho Falls, just in case he could be available to help the big-league club as a reliever down the stretch. But it appears Zimmer will stay on a more conservative course. He is then expected to join the team’s club in the Arizona Fall League, and could continue to pitch in winter ball in the Caribbean.

Manaea has already thrown 121 2/3 innings for Class A Wilmington this season with a 3.11 ERA. He will pitch once a week in the instructional league and last two-to-four innings at a time, assistant general manager J.J. Picollo said.

The games start in mid-September in the complexes around Phoenix.

Here is the roster for the Royals’ Advanced Instructional League club:


1. RHP Matt Alvarez

2. LHP Kyle Bartsch

3. RHP Andrew Edwards

4. RHP Pedro Fernandez

5. RHP Zach Lovvorn

6. LHP Sean Manaea

7. RHP Jake Newberry

8. LHP Cody Reed

9. LHP Luis Rico

10. RHP Glenn Sparkman

11. RHP Niklas Stephenson

12. LHP Daniel Stumpf

13. RHP Kyle Zimmer


1. Zane Evans

2. Cameron Gallagher

3. Chad Johnson


1. Humberto Arteaga

2. Jack Lopez

3. Raul Mondesi

4. Mauricio Ramos

5. Frank Schwindel

6. Ramon Torres


1. Alfredo Escalera

2. Elier Hernandez

3. Taylor Dominique

And here is the roster for the regular Instructional League team:


1. RHP Evan Beal

2. RHP Scott Blewett

3. LHP Emmanuel Camacho

4. LHP Estarlin Cordero

5. RHP Torey Deshazier

6. LHP Austin Fairchild

7. LHP Foster Griffin

8. LHP Haynes Hunter

9. RHP Carter Hope

10. RHP Michael Jeffreys

11. RHP Yunior Marte

12. RHP Kevin McCarthy

13. RHP Kevin Perez

14. RHP Julio Pinto

15. RHP Corey Ray

16. LHP Colin Rodgers

17. RHP Alberto Rodriguez

18. LHP Dylan Sons

19. LHP Matt Strahm

20. LHP Cole Way


1. Michael Arroyo

2. Pedro Gonzalez

3. Mike Hill

4. Kyle Pollock

5. Chase Vallot

6. Melbrys Viloria


1. Ricky Aracena

2. Ryan Dale

3. Samir Duenez

4. Brandon Dullin

5. Wander Franco

6. Marten Gasparini

7. Jose Martinez

8. Ryan O’Hearn

9. Manny Olloque

10. Corey Toups


1. Leland Clemmons

2. Brandon Downes

3. Amalani Fukofuka

4. Rudy Martin

5. Logan Moon

6. Robert Pehl

7. Cristhian Vazquez

To reach Andy McCullough, call 816-234-4370 or send email to rmccullough@kcstar.com. Follow him on Twitter: @McCulloughStar.