Government & Politics

Mayor draws four challengers in Unified Government elections in Wyandotte County


A five-way Unified Government mayoral race tops the list of elections that voters will decide this August and November in Wyandotte County.

Municipal government, sheriff, community college, school board and Board of Public Utility seats are open this year. An Aug. 1 primary will narrow the field for most races with more than two candidates. Voters will select winners on Nov. 7.

Mayor/CEO Mark Holland drew four challengers: David Alvey, David Haley, Keith Jordon and Janice Grant Witt.

Unified Government commissioner races:

District 2 at-large: Tom Burroughs will face J.D. Rios in November for the right to succeed Hal Walker, who did not seek re-election.

District 1: Incumbent Commissioner Gayle Townsend is being challenged by Victor Harris.

District 5: Incumbent Commissioner Mike Kane has two challengers, John Fotovich and Sarah Kremer.

District 7: Incumbent Jim Walters has two challengers, George Cooper and Jim Gibson.

District 8: Incumbent Jane Philbrook has two challengers, Brad Isnard and Kendon McClaine.

Wyandotte County Sheriff Don Ash filed for re-election and will square off against Charles Bunnell, Marvin Main, Celisha Towers and Victor Webb in the primary.

The Board of Public Utilities has half of its six board seats up for election:

In District 2, incumbent Thomas Groneman is unopposed.

At-large position 1 has four candidates: incumbent Mary Gonzales, Kevin Braun, Bryan Messmer and Nikole Owens.

At-large postion 2 will be a two-way race between Ryan Eidson and John Martindale.

The Kansas City Kansas Community College board of trustees has five seats up for election. Evelyn Criswell, Thomas Earp, Colton Gibson, Linda Hoskins Sutton, Janice McIntyre, Leslie Smith and Christal Watson have filed for the three four-year terms. Rosalyn Brown and Tyrone Garner have filed for two-year unexpired terms.

Bonner Springs has four council positions open. Jordan Mackey and Patricia Welicky have filed for the Ward 1 seat of George Cooper, who is not seeking re-election. In the other wards, the incumbents are unopposed: Tom Stephens, Rodger Shannon and Joe Peterson.

Edwardsville has one mayoral candidate, Tiny McTaggart, and three City Council candidates: Carolyn Caiharr, Jason Gillam and Margaret Shriver.

The Kansas City, Kan., Turner, Piper and Bonner Springs school boards also have elections.

Kansas City, Kan., school board candidates seeking two open four-year terms are Irene Caudillo, Maxine Drew, Wanda Brownlee Paige, Joseph Straws III, Stacy Yeager and Maria Cecilia Ysaac. In addition, Rick Behrens, Harold Brown, Janey Humphries and Korri Hall Thompson have filed to fill three unexpired, two-year terms.

There are four Turner school board candidates for four seats: Joy Beery, Jeff Davidson, Steve Russell and Daniel Soptic.

Piper has five candidates for four seats: John Bakarich III, Benjamin Bradley, Desiree Fergus, Theresa Fisette and Jesse Smith.

Bonner Springs school board candidates are Kimberly Beets, John Claxton, Jeff Tinberg and David Toland.

Donna McGuire: 816-234-4393, @dmcguirekcstar