Kansas City philanthropy awards are announced

The annual Kansas City philanthropy awards, sponsored by Nonprofit Connect, will be May 20, honoring eight individuals and four organizations.

The nine awards and their recipients:

▪ Philanthropists of the year: Michael and Marlys Haverty, primarily for their support of Union Station.

▪ Emerging philanthropist: Jennifer Matney, for her work with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Kansas City.

▪ Nonprofit professional: B. Wayne Sims, chief executive officer of KVC Health Systems.

▪ Emerging nonprofit professional: Deborah Wiebrecht, executive director of Variety Children’s Charity of Greater Kansas City.

▪ Volunteers: Terry and Peggy Dunn, primarily for their campaign work for the United Way of Greater Kansas City.

▪ Emerging volunteer: Rachel Merlo, for multiple community board memberships.

▪ Business philanthropist: the Kansas City Chiefs, primarily for making grants to schools and nonprofits.

▪ Excellence in collaboration: Rainbow Services Inc. and the Kansas City, Kan., Police Department, for crisis services involving mental health issues.

▪ Excellence in impact: Community Services League, for 100 years of fighting poverty in Kansas City.

Diane Stafford: 816-234-4359, @kcstarstafford