The Full 90

MLS post-season awards finalists announced

Major League Soccer announced the finalists for its year-end awards today. Perhaps surprisingly, only one Wizard was nominated in any category... Humanitarian of the Year.

Fantastic. Of course, there's not a chance that any Wizard should be nominated for an offensive category. Probably not a defensive category either. But nothing for "Newcomer of the Year*" or "Rookie of the Year"?

*Seriously, Thierry Henry had a greater on-the-field impact than Stephane Auvray or Ryan Smith?

The finalists, listed in alphabetical order below for each award, earned the most votes in polling of MLS players, general managers, coaches, referees and members of the media.

2010 Major League Soccer Awards Finalists

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists

Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy)

David Ferreira (FC Dallas)

Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthqakes)

Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists

Kevin Hartman (FC Dallas)

Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy)

Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Rookie of the Year Finalists

Danny Mwanga (Philadelphia Union)

Andy Najar (D.C. United)

Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Coach of the Year Finalists

Hans Backe (New York Red Bulls)

Schellas Hyndman (FC Dallas)

Jason Kreis (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists

Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)

Joel Lindpere (New York Red Bulls)

Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists

Chris Albright (New York Red Bulls)

Bobby Convey (San Jose Earthquakes)

Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Visa Defender of the Year Finalists

Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake)

Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)

Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year Finalists

Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo)

Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards)

Seth Stammler (New York Red Bulls)

Fair Play Finalists - Individual

C.J. Brown (Chicago Fire)

Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union)

Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

adidas Referee of the Year Finalists

Mark Geiger

Kevin Stott

Baldomero Toledo

Awards Announcements Schedule (Schedule subject to change):

• Nov. 3: Rookie of the Year, Fair Play Individual Team of the Year, and Goalkeeper of the Year• Nov. 5: Visa Defender and adidas Referee/Assistant Referee of the Year• Nov.8: MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year• Nov.10: Newcomer and Comeback Player of the Year• Nov.11: MLS Coach of the Year• Nov.15: 2010 MLS Best XI• Nov.17: AT Goal of the Year and NAPA Auto Parts Save of the Year• Nov.19: Volkswagen MVP Commissioner’s Award