Red Zone

Notes: Chiefs re-sign center Mattison

The Chiefs on Tuesday waived defensive back Neiko Thorpe and re-signed center Bryan Mattison.

The Chiefs had activated Thorpe from the practice squad last weekend because cornerback Jalil Brown and safety Kendrick Lewis were out with injuries for the Baltimore game, and cornerback Brandon Flowers missed a day with a heel injury.

They had signed Mattison on Sept. 26 after Rodney Hudson suffered a broken leg but released him on Oct. 6 to make room for Thorpe. Thorpe, who appeared on special teams in Sunday’s loss to Baltimore, likely will be re-signed to the practice squad once he clears waivers.

Dawson, Corey to participate in race weekend

Chiefs Hall of Fame quarterback Len Dawson, former Chiefs linebacker and defensive coordinator Walt Corey and Olympic gold medalist swimmer Shannon Vreeland of Overland Park will be part of the racing festivities at Kansas Speedway next weekend.

Dawson will serve as grand marshal for the Kansas Lottery 300 Nationwide Series race on Oct. 20. Earlier this year, Dawson, the longtime sports anchor at Channel 9 and analyst for Chiefs radio broadcasts, received the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award and became just the third person to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame as both a player and a broadcaster.

Vreeland will serve as the honorary starter for the Nationwide race. Vreeland was a part of the 4x200 meter freestyle swim team that won the Olympic gold medal in record time this summer in London. Vreeland currently is a member of the Georgia swim team, where she has been a member of two of the Bulldogs’ NCAA national champion relay teams in the 4x200-yard relay event.

Corey, who played linebacker for six seasons with the Dallas Texans/Chiefs, including Super Bowl I, will be the grand marshal for the Kansas Lottery 98.9 ARCA race on Friday night that will determine the series championship.

Corey, who spent 13 years as a Chiefs assistant in the 1970s and ‘80s, moved on to Buffalo in 1987 where he was defensive coordinator/linebackers coach for eight seasons and helped the Bills to four consecutive Super Bowl appearances.