Campus Corner

Mizzou, K-State players dot Phil Steele’s preseason all-conference teams

Kansas State’s Ryan Mueller
Kansas State’s Ryan Mueller The Wichita Eagle

Ten Kansas State and seven Missouri football players were mentioned on Phil Steele’s 2014 preseason all-conference teams.

In the Big 12, K-State senior defensive end Ryan Mueller of Leawood was a first-team pick along with receiver Tyler Lockett, center B.J. Finney and guard Cody Whitehair.

Wildcats quarterback Jake Waters was a second-team pick and linebacker Jonathan Truman and defensive backs Randall Evans and Dante Barnett were third-team selections. Defensive linemen Terrell Clinkscales and Travis Britz made the fourth team.

Kansas linebacker Ben Heeney made the first team and receiver Nick Harwell, tight end Jimmay Mundine, guard Ngalu Fusimalohi and defensive backs Dexter McDonald and Isaiah Johnson were second-team picks.

In the SEC, Mizzou senior defensive end Markus Golden was a second-team selection along with senior punt returner Marcus Murphy, who also features prominently at running back.

Junior linebacker Kentrell Brothers, who is coming off labrum surgery, was picked for the third team.

Three Kansas City-area players — junior center Evan Boehm, a Lee’s Summit West graduate, junior defensive end Shane Ray, a Bishop Miege graduate, and junior kicker Andrew Baggett, a Lee’s Summit North graduate — made the fourth team.

Senior safety Braylon Webb also made the fourth team.

To reach Tod Palmer, call 816-234-4389 or send email to Follow him at