Campus Corner

MU’s James Franklin, Dorial Green-Beckham make preseason awards lists

Missouri quarterback James Franklin was one of 34 players chosen Wednesday to the

Davey O’Brien Award

preseason watch list.

The award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback. Franklin, a 6-foot-2, 230-pound senior, is one of seven players from the Southeastern Conference to make the list, the most of any conference.

Franklin enjoyed a breakout year as a sophomore in 2011, accounting for nearly 4,000 total yards and 36 touchdowns in his first year as a starter. But he was plagued by injuries and inconsistency as a junior and saw his production fall off sharply, leading Missouri coach Gary Pinkel to start an open competition for the starting job in the spring.

Franklin, however, outperformed his counterparts — redshirt freshman Maty Mauk and sophomore Corbin Berkstresser — and Pinkel said Tuesday that he will enter preseason camp atop the depth chart, though a final decision on the starter has not been made.

Franklin is not the only Missouri player to be chosen to a preseason award watch list this month. Sophomore receiver Dorial Green-Beckham is one of 75 players under consideration for the

Biletnikoff Award

, which recognizes the most outstanding receiver in college football. Former Tigers Jeremy Maclin and Chase Coffman were past finalists for the award.

The winner of both awards will be announced during ESPN’s College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.