Campus Corner

Cowboys Stadium gets first college football title game

Cowboys Stadium is on a roll.

The mammoth stadium in Arlington, Texas, with a 2,100-inch HD video screen, was selected as the site of the first College Football Playoff championship game, to be played on Jan. 12, 2015.

By the time that game, which will be called the College Football Championship Game, kicks off, Cowboys Stadium will have played host to the 2014 Final Four and has already been the site for a Super Bowl and NBA All-Star Game.

Nice inventory for a building that opened in 2009.

Arlington won out over Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla. That was the only bidding finalist.

“It’s a wonderful place to host the first game,” said Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff.

Also announced Wednesday were the sites of the other games that will be part of the six-bowl rotation for the national semifinals.

The Sugar, Rose and Orange bowls had already been announced as part of the lineup. Joining them will be the Fiesta, Cotton and Chick-fil-A bowls. Every three years, two of them will serve as the national semifinals, starting with the Sugar and Rose after the 2014 season. The Orange and Cotton are next, followed by the Chick-fil-A and Fiesta.

The four bowls not playing host to semifinals each year will serve as major bowls and be filled by a combination of automatic qualifiers — Big Ten and Pac-12 for Rose, Big 12 and Southeastern Conference for the Sugar and Atlantic Coast for Orange — and teams chosen by a selection committee.

Those games will be played on Dec. 31 and Jan. 1 every year.