Campus Corner

KU's McLemore, Withey, K-State's McGruder among 30 finalists for Naismith Award

Kansas’ Ben McLemore and Jeff Withey and Kansas State's Rodney McGruder were chosen to the list of top 30 candidates for the Naismith men's basketball player of the year award.

The Jayhawks were one of three schools to land two players on the list, joining Duke (Seth Curry, Mason Plumlee) and Indiana (Victor Oladipo, Cody Zeller). The award will be presented April 7 in Atlanta. McLemore leads KU with 15.9 points per game, best among Big 12 freshmen and third-best in the Big 12. Withey leads the Big 12 in blocks with 3.8 per game and has 11 double-doubles this season, including four in his last five games.

McGruder is the third K-State player to be selected as a top 30 candidate for the Naismith Award, joining Michael Beasley (2008) and Jacob Pullen (2010). McGruder leads the Wildcats in scoring (14.8 points per game), double-digit scoring games (21), 20-point games (eight), field goals (155), rebounding (5.4 per game) and minutes (32.2 per game).