Campus Corner

Klein up for another QB honor, giving Wildcats a school-record 15 award candidates

K-State quarterback Collin Klein has been chosen to the Manning Award watch list, giving the Wildcats a school-record 15 candidates for major college football awards. The 1998 team had 11 players on preseason watch lists for awards.

Besides being in the running for the Manning Award, given since 2004 to the nation’s best quarterback, Klein is also a candidate for the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien Awards. He tied a Big 12 record with 27 rushing touchdowns last season, ran for 1,141 yards and threw for 1,918 yards and 13 touchdowns.

K-State’s other award candidates are linebacker Arthur Brown (Bednarik, Butkus, Walter Camp, Lombardi and Nagurski), defensive back Nigel Malone (Bednarik, Walter Camp, Nagurski and Thorpe), kick returner Tyler Lockett (Walter Camp), center B.J. Finney (Rimington) and running back John Hubert (Doak Walker).

Klein, Brown, linebacker Tre Walker and defensive back Ty Zimmerman will appear with head coach Bill Snyder on Monday in Dallas at the annual Big 12 Conference football media days.