Campus Corner

Missouri’s Russell Hansbrough on the Doak Walker Award watch list

Running backs are set to rule the SEC and Missouri’s got one who received some love Thursday when he was selected for the Doak Walker Award watch list.

Senior running back Russell Hansbrough is among 10 SEC backs on the preseason watch list for the Doak Walker Award, given annually to the nation’s top running back.

Hansbrough, a native of Arlington, Texas, led the Tigers in rushing last season with 205 carries for 1,084 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Texas A&M’s Tra Carson, Georgia’s Nick Chubb, LSU’s Leonard Fournette, Alabama’s Derrick Henry, Mississippi State’s Ashton Shumpert, Vanderbilt’s Ralph Webb and South Carolina’s Brandon Webb along with Arkansas’ duo of Alex Collins and Jonathan Williams, a former MU commit.

Five Big 12 running backs on the watch list, including Oklahoma’s Samaje Perine who set an FBS record with 427 rushing yards against Kansas last season. Also appearing on the list are Texas’ Johnathan Gray, TCU’s Aaron Green, Baylor’s Shock Linwood and Texas Tech’s DeAndre Washington.

There were 69 running backs on the watch list, including Arkansas State senior Michael Gordon. Missouri plays Sept. 12 against the Red Wolves in Jonesboro, Ark.

To reach Tod Palmer, call 816-234-4389 or send email to Follow him on Twitter at @todpalmer.