Campus Corner

Missouri’s Kentrell Brothers, Evan Boehm, Gary Pinkel make preseason watch lists

Missouri offensive lineman Evan Boehm walks off the field during a timeout in their annual Black and Gold Spring Game on Saturday, April 18, 2015, in Columbia, Mo.
Missouri offensive lineman Evan Boehm walks off the field during a timeout in their annual Black and Gold Spring Game on Saturday, April 18, 2015, in Columbia, Mo. AP

Missouri found itself represented on several preseason watch lists as the hype machine that is college football started grinding back to life ahead of conference media days last week.

Here’s a quick rundown of the highlights:

Missouri senior linebacker Kentrell Brothers is one of 88 players, including 20 from the SEC, chosen for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy preseason watch list.

Brothers led the Tigers with 122 tackles, including a team-best 62 solo tackles, as a junior. He also finished with five tackles for a loss, a sack, three forced fumbles and four pass breakups.

The Nagurski watch list also includes the reigning winner, Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright III, who aims to become only the second player in the award’s 22-year history to win it twice (Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald, 1995-96).

Kansas State defensive back Dante Barnett and Nebraska defensive tackle Maliek Collins, a graduate of Center High in Kansas City, Mo., also made the list.

The Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the award, which honors the best defensive player in college football, on Nov. 19.

— Missouri senior center Evan Boehm, a Lee’s Summit West graduate, made the cut for the Outland Trophy preseason watch list.

Boehm, who has NFL potential, is among the top interior offensive linemen in the SEC. The award is presented annually to the top interior lineman on offense or defense.

A total of 81 players, including 16 from the SEC, were picked for the Outland Trophy watch list, which also includes Kansas State offensive tackle Cody Whitehair and Nebraska’s Collins.

— Missouri coach Gary Pinkel was among eight SEC coaches and 23 coaches nationwide selected for the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation preseason watch list.

Pinkel has guided the Tigers to back-to-back SEC East division titles and 23 wins, including victories in the Cotton Bowl and Citrus Bowl, during the last two seasons.

“The head coaches on the watch list represent programs with the highest ideals of leadership, scholarship and integrity on and off the field,” according to a release from the Foundation.

Kansas State’s Bill Snyder also was on the list among four Big 12 coaches.

The Dodd Trophy, which was established in 1976, is awarded annually in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Bowl week.

The other SEC coaches were Mississippi’s Hugh Freeze, Auburn’s Gus Malzahn, Mississippi State’s Dan Mullen, Georgia’s Mark Richt, Alabama’s Nick Saban, South Carolina’s Steve Spurrier and Texas A&M’s Kevin Sumlin.

The other Big 12 coaches on the list were Baylor’s Art Briles, TCU’s Gary Patterson and Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops.

Missouri senior kicker Andrew Baggett was not included on the preseason watch list for the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award.

He went 18 of 25 on field goals with a long of 52 last season with 40 touchbacks on 75 kickoffs last season.

Kansas State sophomore Matthew McCrane, who went 18 of 19 last season on field-goal tries, did make the 30-player Groza Award watch list cut.

To reach Tod Palmer, call 816-234-4389 or send email to Follow him on Twitter at @todpalmer.

Related stories from Kansas City Star