Campus Corner

NCAA blitz: College football award and conference champion predictions for 2014

Oregon QB Marcus Mariota could bring home a lot of hardware.
Oregon QB Marcus Mariota could bring home a lot of hardware. The Associated Press

Heisman finalists

Bryce Petty, Baylor quarterback: In Baylor’s offense, monster numbers are the norm, and the Bears should win enough.

Todd Gurley, Georgia running back: With Aaron Murray gone, Bulldogs should rely more on Gurley’s strong legs.

T.J. Yeldon, Alabama running back: Yeldon has topped 1,000 rushing yards in each of his first two years and is poised for bigger things.

Jameis Winston, Florida State quarterback: Can’t count out last year’s Heisman winner — or can you, with only one repeat winner?

Marcus Mariota, Oregon quarterback: Mariota accounted for 4,380 total yards and 40 touchdowns last season.

Impact transfers

Jacob Coker, quarterback, Alabama (from Florida State): Coker, a graduate transfer, lost the job to Jameis Winston last year. Now the two could meet in the College Football Playoff.

Michael Brewer, quarterback, Virginia Tech (from Texas Tech): Brewer graduated from Texas Tech, was denied a transfer to Texas or TCU, and now could be the Hokies’ starter.

Dorial Green-Beckham, wide receiver Oklahoma (from Missouri): The Sooners await word from the NCAA, but if DGB becomes immediately eligible Oklahoma will have the nation’s top recruit of 2012 on board.

Nick Harwell, wide receiver, Kansas (from Miami, Ohio): The Jayhawks got four touchdowns from wide receivers last season. Harwell had 24 in three Mid-American Conference seasons.

Conference champions

Big 12: Oklahoma

Southeastern: Alabama

Big Ten: Ohio State

Atlantic Coast: Florida State

Pac-12: Oregon

American: Cincinnati

Mountain West: Boise State

Conference USA: Marshall

Mid-American: Bowling Green

Sun Belt: Louisiana-Lafayette

Major award winners

Heisman (overall): Marcus Mariota, Oregon quarterback

Maxwell (overall): Mariota

David O’Brien (quarterback): Mariota

Doak Walker (running back): Todd Gurley, Georgia

Biletnikoff (wide receiver): Antwan Goodley, Baylor

Mackey (tight end): Nick O’Leary, Florida State

Outland (lineman): Cameron Erving, offensive tackle, Florida State

Rimington (center): Hroniss Grasu, Oregon

Nagurski/Bednarik (defense): Leonard Williams, defensive tackle, Southern California

Lombardi (linemen/linebackers): Williams

Ted Hendricks (defensive end): Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State

Butkus (linebacker): Trey DePriest, Alabama

Thorpe (defensive back): Landon Collins, Alabama

Johnny Rodgers (return specialist): Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

Groza (kicker): Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma

Ray Guy (punter): Austin Rehkow, Idaho

To reach Blair Kerkhoff, call 816-234-4730 or send email to Follow him on Twitter: @BlairKerkhoff.

Related stories from Kansas City Star