Former Royals reliever Quisenberry on Hall of Fame’s Expansion Era ballot

Royals reliever Dan Quisenberry, the late iconic submariner, is getting another shot at the Hall of Fame.

Quisenberry is one of 12 finalists on the Hall’s Expansion Era ballot (1973 to present), announced Monday. Induction requires support from 12 of 16 members from a Hall-appointed committee.

Results will be announced Dec. 9 at the Winter Meetings in Orlando, Fla., and those (if any) receiving the necessary support will be inducted July 27, 2014, in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Joining Quisenberry on the ballot are:

• Five other players: Shortstop Dave Concepcion, first baseman Steve Garvey, pitcher Tommy John, outfielder Dave Parker and catcher Ted Simmons.

• Four managers: Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa, Billy Martin and Joe Torre.

• Two executives: Union executive director Marvin Miller and Yankees owner George Steinbrenner.

Quisenberry, who died in 1998, spent the first 10 of his 12 big-league seasons with the Royals. He was the club’s pitcher of the year on four occasions and set what was then a major-league record with 45 saves in 1983.

Selected three times as an American League All-Star, Quisenberry was 56-46 with 244 saves in 674 career games. He was 51-44 with a 2.45 ERA and 238 saves in 573 games for the Royals from 1979-88.

Quisenberry appeared only once on the annual Baseball Writers’ Association of America ballot: 1996, when he was cited by just 18 of 470 voters and failed to gain the necessary 5 percent threshold to remain on the next year’s ballot.

Coincidentally, former Royals second baseman Frank White also made his only BBWAA ballot appearance in 1996. He also received 18 votes.

This Expansion Era election marks the start of a second cycle of the Hall’s revised approach to consider individuals overlooked, or not eligible, under the BBWAA vote.

The first Expansion Era ballot in 2010 resulted in the election of Pat Gillick, an executive with several clubs.

The three-year cycle continued in 2011 with consideration of candidates from the Golden Era (1947-72) and in 2012 with Pre-Integration Era (origins through 1946).

The Expansion Era ballot was determined by a 11-member Historical Overview Committee appointed by the BBWAA and consisting solely of organization members.

Candidates needed to be retired at least 21 years but whose “most significant career impact was realized from 1973 through the present.”

The 16-member electoral board consists of eight Hall of Fame members, four club executives and four BBWAA members. Former Royals manager Whitey Herzog is a committee member.