December 8, 2012 10:08 AM

Dale Murphy and the Age-Outs

This year, Dale Murphy will become the 35th player to age off the Hall of Fame ballot after 15 years. We'll get into Murphy in a minute, but first:  It's an excellent collection of players. Some were elected into the Hall of Fame by the Veterans Committee: Richie Ashburn, Jim Bunning, Orlando Cepeda, Nellie Fox, Bill Mazeroski, Ron Santo and Red Schoendienst.Others made it all 15 years because of a singular achievement: Don Larsen, Maury Wills and Roger Maris being the most obvious of those.The other 24 were all terrific players … but in the end, the voters determined that something was missing

Related content