Missouri lands two players on all-SEC baseball teams

A rough debut season in the Southeastern Conference didn’t keep a couple of Missouri baseball players from making the all-league team Tuesday.

Tigers junior Keaton Steele was chosen first-team all-SEC as a utility player and first baseman Josh Lester made the all-freshman team at first base.

Steele, a right-hander, had a team-high five victories as a pitcher and also hit .276 with a team-high five home runs and 24 RBI. Steele also shined in league play, where he led Missouri in batting average (.306), slugging (.542), on-base percentage (.435) and posted a 3.00 ERA with 45 strikeouts in 48 innings.

Lester, meanwhile, hit .260 and drove in 25 runs, just three off the team lead. He also led the team with nine doubles, tied for the team lead in extra-base hits with 11 and posted a team-best .986 fielding percentage, despite playing all four infield positions and finishing with a team-high 281 chances.

Missouri finished 18-32 overall and 10-20 in the SEC in the regular season. The 12th-seeded Tigers had their season come to an end May 21 in a 17-inning loss to Mississippi State in the SEC tournament.

All-Southeastern Conference baseball team


Player of the year:

Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt


Pitcher of the year:

Aaron Nola, LSU


Freshman of the year:

Alex Bregman, LSU


Scholar-Athlete of the year:

Sam Frost, Mississippi State


Coach of the year:

Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt



1B Mason Katz, LSU; 2B Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt; 3B Christian Ibarra, LSU; SS Alex Bregman, LSU; C Stuart Turner, Mississippi; OF Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State; OF Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt; OF Raph Rhymes, LSU; DH/UTL Keaton Steele, Missouri and A.J. Reed, Kentucky; P Ryne Stanek, Arkansas; P Aaron Nola, LSU; RP Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State.



1B Garrett Cooper, Auburn; 2B Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State and JaCoby Jones, LSU; 3B Curt Powell, Georgia and Andrew Mistone, Mississippi; SS Mikey Reynolds, Texas A and Mikey White, Alabama; C Grayson Greiner, South Carolina; OF Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt; OF Brian Anderson, Arkansas; OF Krey Bratsen, Texas A DH/UTL Daniel Mengden, Texas A P Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt; P Bobby Wahl, Mississippi; RP Tyler Webb, South Carolina.



1B Josh Lester, Missouri; 2B Kyle Overstreet, Alabama; 3B Xavier Turner, Vanderbilt; SS Alex Bregman, LSU; C Greg Fettes, Kentucky; OF Kyle Barrett, Kentucky; OF Vincent Jackson, Tennessee; OF Harrison Bader, Florida; DH/UTL Zander Wiel, Vanderbilt; P Jack Wynkoop, South Carolina; P Sean McLaughlin, Georgia; RP Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt and Ray Castillo, Alabama.



P Daniel Mengden, Texas A 1B Mason Katz, LSU and Cole Lankford, Texas A 2B Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt; SS Adam Frazier, Mississippi State; 3B Christian Ibarra, LSU; C Stuart Turner, Mississippi; OF Austin Cousino, Kentucky; OF Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt; OF Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State.