Baseball award finalists named

For the first time ever, the Baseball Writers Association of America announced finalists for its postseason awards. The winners will be revealed next week live on the MLB Network, starting on Monday with the two rookies of the year and concluding Thursday with the MVPs.

The race most likely to garner the most attention is for the AL MVP. Detroit third baseman Miguel Cabrera, the Triple Crown winner, is up against Angels outfielder Mike Trout, who is also nominated for Rookie of the Year. The others in the AL MVP race are Texas' Adrian Beltre and Josh Hamilton and the Yankees' Robinson Cano. The winner will be announced Thursday, Nov. 15.

Detroit's reigning MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander has another shot for top pitcher. Verlander's competition is Tampa Bay's David Price and the Angels' Jered Weaver for the Cy Young. The winner in each league will be picked Wednesday.

Up against Trout for the rookie award are Oakland's Yoenis Cespedes and Texas' Yu Darvish. That award will be handed out on Monday.

On Tuesday, the manager of the year will be awarded. The Associated Press noted that of the six finalists in the two leagues, only White Sox rookie skipper Robin Ventura is not a previous winner. He was nominated along with Bob Melvin (2007) and Buck Showalter (1994, 2004) in the AL.

The National League finalists are Washington's Davey Johnson (1997), Cincinnati's Dusty Baker (1993, 1997, 2000) and San Francisco's Bruce Bochy. The manager awards will be made known on Tuesday.

In the NL MVP race, Milwaukee's Ryan Braun has a shot to repeat. He's up against San Francisco's Buster Posey, San Diego's Chase Headley, Pittsburgh's Andrew McCutchen and St. Louis' Yadier Molina.

Mets knuckleballer R.A. Dickey is among the three finalists for the NL Cy Young Award along with Washington's Gio Gonzalez and 2011 winner Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers.

The finalists for the NL rookie of the year are Washington's Bryce Harper, Cincinnati's Todd Frazier and Arizona's Wade Miley.