Kansans make their voices heard in several city races

Two incumbent members of the Shawnee City Council were eliminated in Tuesday’s primary election in Johnson County.

Instead, voters advanced candidates Dave Myres and Justin Adrian in Ward 3. Myres received 45 percent of the vote, and Adrian received 31 percent. Incumbent Jeff Vaught was eliminated with 23 percent.

In Ward 4, Tony Noble will advance with 41 percent of the vote, and Lindsey Constance will advance with 35 percent. Incumbent Brandon Kenig was eliminated with 22 percent.

Also Tuesday, Gardner voters chose overwhelmingly to authorize $13,725,000 in general obligation bonds to build a new justice center to house the Police Department and Municipal Court. The measure, which required a simple majority to mass, received 70 percent approval.

Gardner voters advanced candidates Mark Baldwin, Scott Smith, Randy Gregorcyk and Michael Blanchard from the primary to the general election in November for two at-large seats on the city council. Baldwin received 22.9 percent of the vote, Smith received 20.8 percent, Gregorcyk received 18.9 percent and Blanchard received 12.6 percent.

Roeland Park voters gave mayoral candidate Mike Kelly a commanding lead in Tuesday’s primary election. He will advance to the general election with 73 percent of 977 votes cast. Roger A. Cooper will also advance, having received 11 percent of the vote.

In the race for the Ward 3 seat on the Roeland Park City Council, Claudia McCormack will advance with 70 percent of the vote along with Linda Mau, who received 15 percent.

Overland Park voters chose to advance Logan Heley to the general election, with 58 percent of the vote, as well as incumbent Dave Janson, who received 25 percent.

In Olathe, Ward 3 candidate for the City Council Adam Thomas will advance with 33 percent of the vote, and incumbent Wes McCoy will advance with 31 percent. At-large candidate Karin Brownlee will advance with 50 percent of the vote and Deann Mitchell will advance with 27 percent.

Lenexa voters advanced Ward 2 candidate for the City Council Bill Nicks with 39 percent of the vote, and incumbent Stacy Knipp with 37 percent. Ward 4 incumbent Mandy Stuke will advance with 69 percent of the vote, as will Michael Elliott with 18 percent.

Merriam voters advanced incumbent Cheryl Moore and candidate David Neal for the Ward 4 seat on the City Council. Moore received 53 percent of the vote and Neal received 26 percent.

In Leavenworth County, voters were allowed to select three candidates. Among 11 candidates for the City Commission of Leavenworth, Jermaine Wilson received the most votes at 717 followed by Myron J. “Mike” Griswold with 551 and incumbent Mark Preisinger with 541 votes.

Among 10 candidates for the City Council in Tonganoxie, Jamie Lawson received the most votes with 209, followed by Loralee D. Stevens with 138 and incumbent Chris R. Donnelly with 120.

Matt Campbell: 816-234-4902, @MattCampbellKC