The Buzz

Kansas Senate leader announces committee chairs

Senate President Susan Wagle announced legislative committee chairmanships for the Kansas Senate on Wednesday.

Legislators are preparing to deal with a host of issues during the upcoming legislative session, including a $348 million budget shortfall. Lawmakers will also be tasked with working on a new school finance formula in the months to come.

The 2017 session of the Kansas Legislature starts Jan. 9.

The Senate leaders for the next legislative session include the following from Johnson and Miami counties:

▪ Sen. Julia Lynn, an Olathe Republican, will retain her chairmanship of the Commerce Committee.

▪ Sen. Molly Baumgardner, a Louisburg Republican, will lead the Education Committee.

▪  Sen. Rob Olson, an Olathe Republican, will again lead the Utilities Committee.

This post has been updated to correct Sen. Molly Baumgardner’s committee chairmanship.

Hunter Woodall: 785-354-1388, @HunterMw