LSJ News

Jackson County Board of Election Commissioners celebrate 100 years

Community leaders will gather to celebrate 100 years of serving the voters of Eastern Jackson County with a reception and a look back at the history of the election board.

Frank White, Jr., county executive, John (Jay) Ashcroft, Missouri secretary of state, and Theresa Galvin and Tony Miller, Jackson County legislators, are expected to participate. The Jackson County Election Board is the election authority for Eastern Jackson County, Missouri. The board is responsible for supervising the voter registration process and the conduct of all public elections for the State of Missouri, Eastern Jackson County.

The event will be held at 3 p.m. Thursday, June 15 at the Jackson County Election Board Office, 215 N. Liberty St., Independence.