Joco 913

Miege, Aquinas, BV North represented on Kansas all-star football roster

Saint Thomas Aquinas quarterback Will Swanson (right) is one of five Saints selected to represent Kansas in the annual Kansas vs. Missouri All-Star Game, which will be played June 14 in Leavenworth.
Saint Thomas Aquinas quarterback Will Swanson (right) is one of five Saints selected to represent Kansas in the annual Kansas vs. Missouri All-Star Game, which will be played June 14 in Leavenworth. Special to The Star

When the annual battle between the best metro area high school football players on both sides of the state line takes place next month, Johnson County’s three state finalists all will be represented.

Class 6A champion Blue Valley North, Class 4A-Division I champ Bishop Miege and Class 5A runner-up St. Thomas Aquinas each have players on the 45-man Kansas roster for the Kansas vs. Missouri All-Star Game. The 27th annual contest between Missouri and Kansas all-stars is scheduled to take place June 14 at Leavenworth High School.

Miege, which won its fourth straight state football title last fall, has four players listed on the roster. That group includes running back Cameron Clark, who rushed for almost 800 yards and nine touchdowns during the Stags’ 13-0 season, offensive lineman Jack Burns, defensive back Cameron Key and linebacker Joe Watskey.

Aquinas, which lost to Bishop Carroll from Wichita in the championship game, has quarterback Will Swanson among its five players selected to the team. Swanson threw for more than 1,000 yards and seven touchdowns and rushed for another 17 TDs in leading the Saints to an 11-2 season. He’ll be joined by tight end Joseph Clune, wide receiver/punter Tristan Davis, safety Jared Flood and wide receiver Drew Hicks.

BV North, which finished 9-4 after upending Derby in the 6A final, will be represented by wide receiver/cornerback Vencent Allen.

The game is presented by the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association. This will be the first time the game has been played in Kansas in five years.

Missouri has won the last seven All-Star Games and leads the all-time series 14-11. One game was postponed.

Leavenworth head coach Mark Littrell will guide the Kansas squad. The Missouri team will coached by Phil Lite of Staley.

Kansas All-Stars Roster

Vencent Allen, 5-11, 175 WR/CB, Blue Valley North; Andrew Ativie, 6-0 180 WR, Leavenworth; Jack Barger, 6-2 210 RB/LB, DeSoto; Cameron Clark, 5-10 165 RB, Bishop Miege; Blake Brown, 6-0 190 WR, Blue Valley.

Jack Burns, 6-3 290 OL, Bishop Miege; Henry Carranza, 6-4 300 OL, Olathe East; Gabe Casmus, 5-11 200 DE, Leavenworth; Gabe Clark, 6-4 260 OL, Lawrence Free State; Joseph Clune, 6-0 270 TE, St. Thomas Aquinas.

Tristan Davis, 6-0 175 WR/P, St. Thomas Aquinas; Jordan Dubin, 5-11 240 OL/DL, Olathe North; Justin Finnigan, 6-2 270 OL, Shawnee Mission East; Brody Flaming, 6-4 210 QB, Mill Valley; Jared Flood, 5-10 175 S, St. Thomas Aquinas.

Jackson Flowers, 6-6 215 DE, Gardner Edgerton; Gage Foster, 5-11 180 QB/LB, Lawrence Free State; Joey Foster, 5-11 190 LB, Basehor-Linwood; Hayden Goodpaster, 6-4 185 WR, Shawnee Mission Northwest; Jackson Heath, 6-1 218 TE/LB, Blue Valley Northwest.

Drew Hicks, 5-10 170 WR, St. Thomas Aquinas; David Johnson, 6-1 205 LB, Lawrence Free State; Parker Kelley, 6-5 272 OL, St. James Academy; Cameron Key, 5-10 165 DB, Bishop Miege; Jackson Likens, 5-11 185 K, Blue Valley.

Chris Logan, 5-11 195 LB, Blue Valley Southwest; Connor McCartney, 6-1 185 LB, Olathe East; Bo Miller, 5-11 180 WR/LB, Lawrence Free State; Camron Mitchell-Johnson, 5-11 165 CB, Olathe East; Bryce Mohl, 5-11 185 QB, DeSoto.

Travis Morrison, 6-1 270 DL, Shawnee Mission Northwest; Jack Petz, 6-0 204 RB/LB, St. James Academy; Jamison Phelps, 5-11 170 CB, Olathe South; Evan Rice, 5-11 180 WR, Mill Valley; Kristian Russell, 6-3 270 OL, Lawrence.

TaVaughn Sappington, 6-1 RB/S, Sumner Academy; Byron Sherwin, 6-1 260 OL/DL, Shawnee Mission West; Drew Smith, 5-11 185 RB/S, Paola; Will Swanson, 5-11 180 QB, St. Thomas Aquinas; Calvin Thomas, 6-2 180 WR, Lansing.

Tony Thomas, 5-11 250 DL, Shawnee Mission South; Ike Valencia, 6-2 215 DE, Mill Valley; Joe Watskey, 6-0 230 LB, Bishop Miege; Trevor Watts, 5-7 155 WR, DeSoto; Seth Zegunis, 6-4 280 OL, Olathe Northwest.