Joco 913

Election Day guide for Johnson County

The Kansas City Star

Kansas residents can vote from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Nov. 8. The busiest times to vote are expected to be first thing in the morning, at lunchtime and after business hours. Voters who are in line by 7 p.m. will be allowed to cast ballots.

Here's a look at the local races, candidates and issues on the ballot for Johnson County.


Northeast Johnson County race features two well-known candidates

The winner of the Nov. 8 general election will replace Republican incumbent Kay Wolf, who didn't seek reelection. District 7 covers parts of 10 cities in northeast Johnson County. ((Keep reading))

In Senate District 8, Republican incumbent Jim Denning faces Democrat Don McGuire

Republican incumbent Jim Denning says he is running to put Kansas back on strong financial footing. Challenger Don McGuire, a Democrat, is focused on school funding. ((Keep reading))

Incumbent Julia Lynn faces off against Chris Morrow in Senate District 9

Republican Julia Lynn has served in the Kansas Senate since 2006. Her challenger, Democrat Chris Morrow, is the mayor of Gardner. ((Keep reading))

Incumbent Pilcher-Cook, challenger Hiatt offer opposing visions

In Senate District 10, Democrat Vicki Hiatt is campaigning on a platform of change, while incumbent Republican Mary Pilcher-Cook maintains her support for Gov. Sam Brownback and his tax cuts. ((Keep reading))

Moderate candidates try to break away from one another in Kansas Senate race

A three-way race for the state Senate seat in District 21 will likely lead to a moderate candidate heading to Topeka. ((Keep reading))


Education takes precedence for District 15 challenger

Incumbent Erin Davis faces Paul McCorkle in the race for Kansas House District 15. ((Keep reading))

Funding schools a key issue in Kansas House District 16 race

Democrat Cindy Holscher, of Overland Park, challenges incumbent Republican Amanda Grosserode, of Lenexa, saying she wants to "end the (Gov. Sam) Brownback disaster." ((Keep reading))

Newcomers Tom Cox and Helen Stoll seek to represent District 17

Regardless of who wins the right to represent Kansas House District 17, the district's voice will be more moderate than in the past. ((Keep reading))

Jenkins, Neighbor want to see changes in some tax policy

Two experienced candidates, Republican Eric Jenkins and Democrat Cindy Neighbor, are vying for the open 18th Kansas House district seat. ((Keep reading))

Republican incumbent faces two challengers in Kansas House District 19 race

Democrat Elizabeth Meitl and Libertarian John Taube are trying to get the job from incumbent Stephanie Clayton, who has served two terms in the eastern Johnson County district. ((Keep reading))

Candidates for House District 21 offer similar stances on key issues

Republican Dorothy Hughes and Democrat Jerry Stogsdill will compete on Nov. 8 to represent Kansas House District 21. ((Keep reading))

Kansas House District 23 incumbent will face off against Democrat

Kansas House District 23 Representative Linda Gallagher faces Democrat Amber Versola in this race. ((Keep reading))

Incumbent Republican Melissa Rooker faces Democrat Matt McCann

In Kansas House District 25, incumbent Melissa Rooker, a Republican, says she wants to continue to be a strong voice for the families in her district. ((Keep reading))

In House District 29, school finance is a key issue for candidates

Seeking a third term, Republican James Todd faces Democrat Brett Parker for the House District 29 seat. Todd is an Overland Park attorney. Parker is a teacher in the Olathe School District. ((Keep reading))

Incumbent Willie Dove facing two challengers in House District 38 race

Dove prevailed in a three-way Republican primary in August, but will face two more opponents interested in his spot on Nov. 8. Democrat Mike Fonkert and Libertarian F. Caleb Christopher. ((Keep reading))


In Joco 3rd District commissioner race, focus on taxes challenges a focus on social issues

For Benjamin Hodge, challenger in the Third District race for the Johnson County Commission, the campaign boils down to taxes and spending. ((Keep reading))

Incumbent Toplikar focuses on social services; challenger Brown, economic growth

With the courthouse perhaps the last big building project going before the voters Nov. 8, candidates for the commission's Sixth District are looking ahead to what the next focus should be. ((Keep reading))


Kansas Supreme Court justices try to fend off retention challenge

On this year's ballot, five of the seven justices on the Kansas Supreme Court are up for retention. ((Keep reading))


Fate of Johnson County's aging courthouse is up to voters

On Nov. 8, voters will be asked to decide on a quarter-cent rise in the sales tax to build a new Johnson County courthouse. The tax will also pay for a new lab for autopsies. ((Keep reading))

Unsure of your voting location? Find it online at or by calling the Kansas Secretary of State's office 785-296-4564.