Cass County News

Cass Career Center honors Harrisonville student as outstanding graduate

Nick McCleave walked away with many honors at a recent awards ceremony for Cass Career Center. Here, the Harrisonville senior receives a 2018 Jerry Tabb Memorial Scholarship worth up to $4,000 over eight semesters. The presenter is David Coffelt.
Nick McCleave walked away with many honors at a recent awards ceremony for Cass Career Center. Here, the Harrisonville senior receives a 2018 Jerry Tabb Memorial Scholarship worth up to $4,000 over eight semesters. The presenter is David Coffelt. Submitted photo

Harrisonville High School senior Nick McCleave was named the All School Outstanding Graduate at the Cass Career Center’s year-end awards ceremony. He studied agriculture there.

McCleave’s name will go on a plaque in the main hall of the Career Center. He also received the Joel Mathews Memorial Scholarship for $200, and the $1,500 CCC Achievement Scholarship, which is given and directed by an anonymous donor.

McCleave also won the $4,000 Jerry Tabb Memorial Scholarship.

Harrisonville seniors Kayla Stewart and Lacey Williams were runners-up. Each received a $500 CCC Achievement Scholarship.

One student from each of the center’s sending schools was honored as Outstanding Sending School Senior.

Those recipients were Adrian senior Remington Pittman, health science; Archie senior Taylor Morton, health science; Belton senior Roman Stump, automotive tech; Cass Midway senior Austin Evins, construction tech; Harrisonville senior McCleave, agriculture; Lee’s Summit senior Andrew White, agriculture; Lone Jack senior Lillian Sherlock, fire science; Pleasant Hill senior Andrew Conway, EMT, and Raymore-Peculiar senior Destinee Shehan, criminal justice/CSI.

In addition, each program at Cass Career Center recognized an outstanding junior and senior.

Those recognized were Harrisonville senior McCleave and Harrisonville junior Michelle Mars, agriculture; Raymore-Peculiar senior Quentin Thompson and Belton junior Katherine Dameron, automotive tech; Belton senior Jenna Wyatt and Harrisonville junior Ariel Hosman, criminal justice/CSI; Midway senior Dawsen Zumwalt and Lone Jack junior Tyler West, construction tech; Adrian senior Courtney Jones and Belton junior Brittni Kilton, English IV; Pleasant Hill senior Andrew Conway and Raymore-Peculiar junior Katelynn Jungling, EMT; Lee’s Summit senior Spencer Reiff and junior Erin Wylie, fire science; Adrian senior Ashlee Burris, health sciences; Harrisonville senior Brooklyn Airrington and Harrisonville junior Madison Barnes, marketing; Harrisonville senior Logan Fordyce and Lee’s Summit junior Caleb McCommon, math IV; and Lone Jack senior Jacob Wilmoth and Raymore-Peculiar junior Cole Penn, welding.

A number of other scholarships and awards were given out at the April 30 ceremony.

Counselors’ group honors two from Sherwood High

Bill Stackhouse and Tara Carter were named Principal and Counselor of the Year, respectively, by the Central Missouri School Counselors Association. They are credited with creating an environment at Sherwood High School that allows students to succeed. Submitted photo

During the 2018 Administrator Appreciation Breakfast last month, the Central Missouri School Counselors Association honored Tara Carter of Sherwood Cass High School, with her therapy dog Noble, as Secondary School Counselor of the Year.

Her principal, Bill Stackhouse, was recognized as Administrator of the Year.

Many Sherwood staffers wrote letters of recommendation, expressing how positive it is to work with both colleagues.

“No two people at our school are more devoted to the well-being of our student body,” one faculty member wrote. “The energy encompasses our entire staff and even our students. I’ve never worked in a better school district.”

Ray-Pec snags two state tech championships

TSA CAD 1 and 2
In the category of computer-aided design engineering, Cory Atteberry (right) won first place in Missouri, and Zach Kerfoot (left) placed second. Submitted photo

Members of the Raymore-Peculiar Technology Student Association won two championships at the state TSA competition last month in Rolla.

The team of Bryanna Gordon, Trent Oberlander, Amanda Vega and Ryan Jones placed first in “on demand video.” In this category, a team of two to six students must write, shoot and edit a 60-second video on-site during the conference.

Cory Atteberry emerged victorious in computer-aided design engineering. Zach Kerfoot placed second in that category.

Others from Ray-Pec with second-place honors were Harrison Jones and Cameron Gillespie in computer integrated manufacturing; and Bryanna Gordon in digital video production.

TSA On Demand Video
Teammates (from left) Trent Oberlander, Ryan Jones, Bryanna Gordon and Amanda Vega placed first in “on demand video” at the state Technology Student Association competition. Submitted photo

Monthly honors at Career Center

Cass Career Center has named its Students of the Month for April and May.

The April honoree is Erika Portugal, who is enrolled in the adult practical nursing program. Staffers say she loves learning, and they describe her as persistent, positive and helpful to others.

For May, the center recognized Noah Mills, a Harrisonville High School student in the marketing program. He is described as respectful, responsible, reliable and someone who leads by quiet example.

The award is sponsored by the Cass County Elks Lodge #2791.

Pleasant Hill takes state prize for dramatic interpretation

For the first time, a student at Pleasant Hill High School has earned a state championship in a “main event” at the state speech, debate and theatre competition, the district said.

That milestone was reached by Mackenzie Beaman, who competed in dramatic interpretation.

Her victory marked the third time that Pleasant Hill has won a state championship of any kind in speech and debate.

Ray-Pec’s ‘The Diviners’ wins statewide prize

Drama students from Raymore-Peculiar High School have won the state championship for the one-act play “The Diviners.”

Ray-Pec students also won other awards at the state speech, debate and theatre tournament April 20-22 at Missouri State University in Springfield.

Second-place awards went to the Readers Theatre performance of “The Fundamentals of Caregiving” and to Ella Schnake in storytelling

Logan Daniels and Trevor Diepenbrock placed fourth in duet acting, and Tevin Chavez placed fourth in prose reading.

Compiled by Elaine Adams, Special to The Democrat