816 North

Rotary scholarships, and other school notes

Gladstone Rotary Club

Recipients selected: Five Northland graduating seniors were awarded scholarships by the Gladstone Rotary Club.

Recipients from Oak Park High School were Bret Bussinger and Shelby Hart; from Staley High School, Iris Siadatifard and Nicole Trinh; and from Winnetonka, Abigal Swinney.

The students each received $1,000 to help with college expenses. They were chosen based on academic excellence, leadership roles in their schools and essays about their plans for the future. Hart received the John Michael Memorial Scholarship, given in honor of a longtime member of the Gladstone Rotary Club.

The club awards scholarships annually to Northland graduating seniors and partners with area schools throughout the year in community and academic service and in support of international projects and the goals of Rotary International.

Liberty High School

Scholarships awarded: Paul Spring and Tanner Prendergast, seniors, won top education awards from the American Chemical Society.

Selection was based on academic record, teacher recommendation and performance on the U.S. National Chemistry Olympiad exam. Prendergast and Spring were among some 80 students from Missouri and Kansas who took the exam. Eight advanced to the national competition and the Liberty students won two of the three scholarships.

Park Hill High School

Academic accolades: Graduating seniors Hannah Conner and Sarah Hogan are among 100 top students in the state chosen for the 2014 Missouri Scholars program.

Schools nominate students for the program based on a grade-point average of at least 3.75, high scores on college-entrance exams, excellent attendance, exemplary school citizenship and involvement in activities. They also must rank in the top 10 percent of their class and have completed upper-level courses in math, science, English and a foreign language.

Park Hill South High School

Broadcast awards: Three students were chosen for the Student Pillar of Excellence awards from the Mid-America chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Brittany Coffey, a junior, won in the craft photography category for a compilation of her work. Joey Panella, a senior, and Shaefer Schuetz, a junior, won in the craft talent category for their play-by-play of a boys’ basketball game.

The Mid-America chapter includes Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Oklahoma and Louisiana.

Foreign study: Hayley Werth, a junior, was chosen for the National Security Language Initiative for Youth program.

She will study in South Korea this summer. The program awards scholarships to students interested in learning a high-need language.

Park University

Older students honored: Adult learners who have excelled in undergraduate degree programs were selected for membership in the campus chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda.

Northland students named to the national honor society were David Cline from Smithville and Kasey Skidmore from Parkville.

Members are chosen in their senior year of college based on a grade-point average of at least 3.75, leadership and completion of at least 24 credit hours at Park. They must be pursuing their first undergraduate degree.

| Compiled by Su Bacon

Please e-mail your school news to PigSuBacon@aol.com, fax it to 816-453-7823 or mail it to Northland Neighborhood News, The Kansas City Star, 1729 Grand Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64108.

No e-mail attachments, please. Include a telephone number for verification. Items must be received at least two weeks before publication.