816 North

College-sponsored National Merit Scholarships and other school notes

National Merit Scholarships

Scholarships announced: Among the 2,500 winners of the college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships were these Northland students:

Kearney High School: Joseph Andrew Barrett, University of Oklahoma

Liberty High School: Haley E. Brown, University of Southern California

North Kansas City High School: Richard W. McCormick, Arizona State University

Park Hill South: Sarah A. Hardin, University of Alabama; Joseph A. Philpot, University of Arizona

North Kansas City School District

Grants awarded: Staff and faculty members were chosen to receive education foundation grants for the 2014-2015 school year.

Recipients are selected based on grant proposals that use creative and effective ways to meet student needs and increase achievement and motivation to learn.

Culture of Excellence Grants for $500 were awarded to New Mark Middle School science teacher Laura Gilchrist and Tammy Sanders, a family involvement specialist at Linden West Elementary School.

Awarded the Dan Kahler Innovative Teaching Grants were Erin Nash from Briarcliff Elementary School; Cindy Turner from Clardy Elementary; Brooke Boyd, K. Dawn Lang and Renee Lowery from the Early Childhood Education Center; Michelle Musselman and Andrea Stephenson from Linden West Elementary; Susie Helwig from North Kansas City High School; Melissa Belner, Kristi Black, Tara Dohrmann, Beth McIntyre and Julie Peetoom from Northview Elementary; Theresa Mischel Smith from Oak Park High School; Kathryn Boman and Vanessa New from School Age Child Care; Terri Rudy, Linda Satter and Heidi Skretta from Special Education; Dana Miller from Topping Elementary; and Brice Jensen, Joseph Morse and Andy Schuerman from Winnetonka.

Darrel Bland Sertoma Club

Scholarship recipients: Two graduating seniors were chosen for $1,000 “Finish Strong” scholarships to further their education.

They are Hannah Lounsbery of Winnetonka High School and Nicole Trinh of Staley High School.

Winners are selected based on examples of overcoming adversity, community service and at least a 3.0 grade-point average.

Gladstone Rotary Club

Recipients selected: Five Northland graduating seniors were awarded scholarships by the Gladstone Rotary Club.

Recipients from Oak Park High School were Bret Bussinger and Shelby Hart; from Staley High School, Iris Siadatifard and Nicole Trinh; and from Winnetonka, Abigal Swinney.

The students each received $1,000 to help with college expenses. They were chosen based on academic excellence, leadership roles in their schools and essays about their plans for the future. Hart received the John Michael Memorial Scholarship, given in honor of a longtime member of the Gladstone Rotary Club.

The club awards scholarships annually to Northland graduating seniors and partners with area schools throughout the year in community and academic service and in support of international projects and the goals of Rotary International.

Park Hill South High School

Broadcast awards: Three students were chosen for the Student Pillar of Excellence awards from the Mid-America chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Brittany Coffey, a junior, won in the craft photography category for a compilation of her work. Joey Panella, a senior, and Shaefer Schuetz, a junior, won in the craft talent category for their play-by-play of a boys’ basketball game.

The Mid-America chapter includes Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Oklahoma and Louisiana.

Foreign study: Hayley Werth, a junior, was chosen for the National Security Language Initiative for Youth program.

She will study in South Korea this summer. The program awards scholarships to students interested in learning a high-need language.

Starlight Theatre

Applause for performers: Northland high school theater, drama and music departments won Blue Star Awards for their school productions.

“Disney’s Tarzan” at Liberty High School won outstanding overall production; outstanding actor in a featured role, Turner Staton; outstanding actress in a featured role, Roslinde Rivera; outstanding scenic design and construction, Tier II; outstanding lighting design; outstanding hair and makeup design; and outstanding technical crew.

Winnetonka High School won outstanding costume design and construction, Tier I, for “Disney’s The Little Mermaid Jr.”

| Compiled by Su Bacon

Please e-mail your school news to PigSuBacon@aol.com, fax it to 816-453-7823 or mail it to Northland Neighborhood News, The Kansas City Star, 1729 Grand Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64108.

No e-mail attachments, please. Include a telephone number for verification. Items must be received at least two weeks before publication.