816 North

Students honored for patriotic essays, and other school notes

Martin Luther Academy Winning writers:

Seventh-graders placed in the Patriot’s Pen essay contest sponsored by the Veterans of Foreign Wars.

Writing about patriotism, Annie Winkler placed first and Christian Hinrichs took third place. They earned Youth Essay Award Citations.

Retired naval aviator and Voice of Democracy chairman E. J. Donnelly presented the award citations.

Liberty North High School Outstanding orators:

Members of the novice team placed second among 20 schools competing at the Lee’s Summit North tournament.

In individual events, Cami Smith placed first in U.S. extemporaneous speaking; Madison White, third in original oratory; and Justen Wilhite, third in poetry.

At the Lee’s Summit West varsity tournament, Derek Rogers placed second in U.S. extemporaneous speaking and Lauren VanNess placed second in poetry.

At the Grandview 8-round debate tournament in public forum debate, Molly Hedrick and Elliott Yoakum placed first and Mac Newton and Mattie Seley placed third.

At the Truman Individual Event tournament, students placing in humorous interpretation were Summer Blankenship, first place; Caitlyn Fuller, second; and Kate Eisenhutt, third.

First in oral interpretation was Clarissa Lenger; third in dramatic interpretation, Caitlyn Fuller; third in duo interpretation, Summer Blankenship and Caleb Longley; and third in improv duet, Caleb Longley and Jackson Lord.

Park Hill School District Musicians qualify:

Selected by audition from Park Hill South High School for the All-District Full Orchestra were Nathan Choi, bass, and Olivia Miller, violin. Selected for the All-District String Orchestra were Kassandra Andersen, violin; Laura Arnold, violin; Colin Arensberg, viola; Kylie De Clue, cello; and Christopher Mathisen, cello.

From Park Hill High School, Annie Chen was chosen for violin and Cecelia Peak for bass for the full orchestra. For string orchestra, selected for violin were Emily Daily, Jace Galang, Taylor McMurtry and Eleanor Panico.