816 North

School notes for July 3

Gladstone Rotary Club

Scholarships awarded:

Five students in the North Kansas City School District received college scholarships from the Gladstone Rotary Club.

They were Jake Chamberlain from Winnetonka High School; Courtney Wiggins from Oak Park High School; and Lauren McCroskie, Brooke Ravencraft and Courtney Ravencraft from Staley High School.

Nearly 40 students applied. Recipients were selected based on an application, a written essay, school activities, academic achievements and career interests.

The Gladstone Rotary Club awards scholarships annually to Northland graduating seniors and partners with area schools throughout the year in community and academic service and in support of international projects and the goals of Rotary International.

Platte County R-3 School District

Grants awarded:

The Platte County Education Foundation announced recipients of classroom grants for the 2013-2014 academic year.

Proposals were approved for Cheri Bonsignore of Paxton Elementary School, Jamie Klingenberg of Barry School, Kim McGinnis of Great Beginnings Preschool, Cathryn Poe of Platte City Middle School, Stephanie Seigel of Pathfinder Elementary School and Shari Waters, assistant principal at Platte County R-3 High School.

The grants will be used to improve student retention and classroom engagement and to increase technology usage.

Park Hill School District

Broadcast journalists excel:

Graduating seniors received regional and national recognition.

Paxton DiBlasi from Park Hill High School and Rachel Schisler from Park Hill South High School received internships to work at the Student Television Network’s convention in 2014 in Orlando, Fla.

The students were runners-up for the network’s Student of the Year.

Otto Gaiser, a Park Hill High graduate, received a Student Production Award from the Mid-America chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in October.

In addition, the Park Hill South daily program, “South Side Scoop,” was one of three high school newscasts honored by the chapter with an honorable mention.

University of St. Mary

Academic achievers:

Northland students have been named to the Spring 2013 Dean’s Honor Roll list.

To qualify, students must earn at least a 3.5 grade-point average.

Honor-roll students from Kansas City, North, were Jessica Bindi, Adam Newbanks, Rosaria Piraino, Stephen Senne, Alyssa Sousa, Samuel Vollbrecht and Ashley Winquist; from Excelsior Springs, Cody Gaul; from Gladstone, Sarah Cronkleton-Kidd; from Platte City, Alina Baldwin and Hunter Timmons; and from Riverside, John Christopher.

Park Hill High School

Theater honors:

Drama students have won Kansas City area awards.

Simon Huntley, who will be a senior, received a Blue Star Award for outstanding lighting design for the school’s musical, “Sweeney Todd.” The awards were given by Starlight Theatre to high school drama students throughout the metro area for achievement and excellence in musical theater production and performances.

Huntley also was recognized with a Cappies award for special effects.

Winning Cappies awards for their part in the production of the show were Chloe Nelson and Eva Ohman for make-up; Michael Bidwell and Katie Wasicko for sets; Tia Hernandez for comic actress in a musical; and Daniel Lewis, lead actor in a musical.

Winning a Cappies award for ensemble were the students playing asylum inmates: Danzell Capers, Cassie Dailey, Kara Jahal, Alexandria Mabrey, Eric Mathis, Jade Miller, Savannah Nokes, Cooper Slater, Hannah Smith, Maggie Sobbing, Peri Sturm, Cody Van Hooser and Mel Young.

Hernandez also received a Cappies award for lead actress in the play, “The Matchmaker.”

Fourteen Kansas City area schools participated in the Cappies program, which trains high school theater and journalism students to write critical reviews of shows at other schools.