816 North

School notes for May 1

North Kansas City School District

District celebrates 100 Years:

The North Kansas City School District will celebrate its 100th anniversary on Saturday.

The daylong Centennial Celebration begins with a parade of schools at 9 a.m. and a 5K walk/run at 9:45 a.m. The public is invited to a free picnic from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. and a district history presentation at 1 p.m. Other activities include an art show, musical performances, culinary and physical education demonstrations, history displays and face painting.

The celebration will be in the football stadium next to North Kansas City High School at 620 E. 23rd Ave. in North Kansas City.

Registration for the 5K is $25. For a registration form, visit



Academic achievers:

Five students were named to the Missouri Scholars 100 Program.

They are Kala Chinnaswamy and Forrest Walker from North Kansas City High School, Maryssa Loehr from Oak Park and Ryan Link and Haley Loftis from Staley.

They are among the top 100 of Missouri’s high school seniors graduating this year.

The students have grade-point averages of at least 3.75; are ranked in the top 10 percent of their class; and have taken upper-level courses in mathematics, science, English and foreign language. Attendance, school citizenship, extracurricular activities and scores on college-entrance exams also are considered in the selection process.

Platte County R-3 High School

Scholarship awarded:

Kyle Christensen, a senior, received a $500 scholarship from the Missouri Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association.

He was the male runner-up in the statewide competition. Christensen was chosen based on achievements in academics and sports. He also submitted an essay describing how high school athletics improved his life.

University of St. Mary

Chosen for show:

Northland students were selected for the campus performance of “The Learned Ladies.”

Appearing in the French farce were Sarah Cronkleton-Kidd of Gladstone and Alyssa Dunning of Parkville.

The play was produced in April at the university in Leavenworth.

Liberty North High School

Winning journalists:

Students were recognized by the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association for their work on the yearbook.

Awarded Show-Me awards, the highest rating given, were Jessica Bonnot for Student Life Design; Jenna Carey for two Sports Designs; Austin Robbins for Sports Design; and Meric Schonemann for Student Life Reporting.

Best Overall Coverage awards were given to the team of Bonnot, Robbins and Sarah Brewer and to the team of Bonnot, Robbins and Megan Fogle.

In the association’s on-site competition at Journalism Day on the campus of the University of Missouri in Columbia, Jordan Haferbier earned second in overall state competition in the Photo Shoot-Out.