816 North

Winnetonka drama students honored; Park Hill journalists win state awards

Winnetonka High School drama students and their teacher, Sheri Coffman, celebrate success at the annual Cappies awards ceremony.
Winnetonka High School drama students and their teacher, Sheri Coffman, celebrate success at the annual Cappies awards ceremony. Submitted photo

Winnetonka High School

Theatrical awards: Drama students received Cappies awards for their performances in plays and musicals.

Winning individual honors were Cameron Daniel for directing; Danielle Dodd for lead actress in a play; Julia Madison for lead actress in a musical; Lana Moerer for supporting actress in a musical; and Harper Ross for best featured actress.

Winnetonka won best play for “The Curious Savage” and best musical for “Aida.”

Sheri Coffman is the theater teacher.

Cappies is a program that trains high school theater and journalism students to be critics who attend and review shows at other schools. At the end of the school year, the student critics vote on the awards.

Park Hill School District

Journalists excel: The Missouri Interscholastic Press Association awarded top honors to newspaper, yearbook and broadcast staffs.

Winning All-Missouri recognition from Park Hill High School were Lauren Bunten and Davis Suppes; and from Park Hill South High School, Emma Beuerlein, Delaney Barnicle, Hailey Deeds, Jenna Evans, Lexi Frieders, Sadie Hudson, Corbin Hull, Aleena Khan, Kendra Kernel, Joe Leluga and Cienna Newett.

Park University

Graduate degrees: Northland students earned master’s degrees and graduate certificates on the campus in Parkville.

Graduate students were Amber Williams from Excelsior Springs; Dominic Accurso, Nicole Christensen, Kenneth Davis, Willem Louis, Amber Smedley and Julie Smith from Gladstone; John Houser from Holt; Julie Massana and Ricky Massana from Liberty; Kristofer Kuhn, Samantha McFeeters, Charles Muthui Mumo, Donald Watts and Joseph West from Parkville; Cheri Bonsignore, Emilee Karnes, James Pratt and Samantha Jo Soper from Platte City; and Aubrey Off and Danielle Thurston from Smithville.

Kansas City, North, students were Kelsea Ankle, Adam Baker, Kristen Cavaliere, Alex C. Dayoub, Emily Devlin, Michael Farrell, Alma Fetahovic, James Flanders, James Jarrard, Tawar Khalandi, Elaina Pearson, Ashley Phillips, Jacob Porter, Kelsey Ruoff, Demetri Trautwein and Sadaf Zaki.

Compiled by Su Bacon, Special to The Star

Email your school news to PigSuBacon@aol.com, fax it to 816-453-7823 or mail it to 816 North, The Kansas City Star, 1729 Grand Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64108. No email attachments. Include a telephone number for verification. Items must be received at least two weeks before publication.