816 North

School news in brief

Park Hill School District

▪ Educator honored: Deborah Miller has been named 2014 Missouri Assistant Principal of the Year by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals.

Miller is the assistant principal at Park Hill High School. She will be honored at the association’s conference in October and is a candidate for the national honor.

She was selected based on collaborative leadership and involvement in curriculum, instruction and assessment.

Miller has been with the district since 1996 and an assistant principal since 2002. In 2013, she was named assistant principal of the year by the Greater Kansas City Missouri Principals Association.

Central Missouri State University

▪ Academic achievers: Northland students have been named to the Dean’s List for the summer session.

To qualify, students must earn at least a 3.5 grade-point average on nine or more credit hours. The Dean’s List designation is indicated on academic transcripts.

Honor-roll students on the campus in Warrensburg were Jacqueline Rubin from Gladstone; Christa Bearce, Leeanna Bush, Stephanie Clemens, Katrina Gray, Isaac Lynn, Cody McKown, Ashley Merrick, Rhiannan Metcalf, Erin Purifoy, Christian Ricketts, Kevin Sage and Slade Thackeray from Kansas City, North; and Lane Laffey from Liberty.

| Compiled by Su Bacon

We want your

school news

Please e-mail your school news to PigSuBacon@aol.com, fax it to 816-453-7823 or mail it to Northland Neighborhood News, The Kansas City Star, 1729 Grand Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64108.

No email attachments, please. Include a telephone number for verification. Items must be received at least two weeks before publication.