Carving out time for charity

Jackson County Executive Mike Sanders and nine mayors have entered the “Pumpkin Playoffs” to help support local charities.

Their carved and decorated pumpkins are on display this week in the first-floor lobby of the Truman Courthouse on Independence Square.

Until noon Saturday, citizens can cast their votes by checking their favorite entry on donation envelopes and dropping the envelopes, with their monetary donations, into a locked ballot box.

Whichever pumpkin receives the most funds will be declared this year’s winner, according to a Jackson County news release. Donated money will go to the charity specified.

The participants and their charities:


Jackson County Executive Mike Sanders:

Children’s Center for the Visually Impaired.


Blue Springs Mayor Carson Ross:

Community Services League of Blue Springs.


Grain Valley Mayor Mike Todd:

Grain Valley Holiday Senior Baskets.


Grandview Mayor Steve Dennis:

Grandview Assistance Program.


Independence Mayor Don Reimal:

Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Kansas City (Independence Unit).


Kansas City Mayor Sly James:

- Turn the Page KC.


Lee’s Summit Mayor Randy Rhoads:

One Good Meal.


Oak Grove Mayor Mark Fulks:

Community Services League of Oak Grove.


Raytown Mayor David Bower:

Raytown Three Trails Kiwanis.


Sugar Creek Mayor Matt Mallinson:

Sugar Creek Citizens Civic Relief Commission.