Johnson County driver’s license stations move to 5-day weeks

Kansas residents will continue to have extended access to five driver’s license stations in a state agency’s effort to keep lines moving.

The Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles announced Wednesday that stations in Mission, Olathe, Topeka, Wichita and Andover will remain open Monday through Friday. The decision follows a practice this summer of keeping the Mission and Wichita offices open an extra day of the week.

All other offices statewide will be open Tuesday through Friday, keeping in place a practice that first began in 1983.

Division Director Donna Shelite says the five offices were among the busiest in Kansas and that keeping extra hours will decrease the time it takes for residents to conduct their affairs.

The division is hiring new staff to handle the extra hours.

In addition, a pilot project this fall will bring evening hours to the Mission and Olathe offices. They will be open until 7:45 p.m. Monday through Thursday.