Bo Jackson leads Royals’ 2013 Hall of Fame ballot



Eligible candidates must have played at least three years for the club while accumulating a minimum of 1,500 plate appearances or 150 innings pitched. They must also be retired for at least three years.

This year’s nominees (in alphabetical order): Emil Brown, Al Cowens, Jermaine Dye, Al Fitzmorris, Jimmy Gobble, Runelvys Hernandez, Bo Jackson, Darrell Porter, Kevin Seitzer and John Wathan.

The 40-member voting panel also consists of all living Hall members and select members of the club’s board of directors, Kansas City Chapter of the Baseball Writers‘ Association of America, electronic media representatives and the club’s front office staff.

The fan balloting will account for three of the 40 votes with three votes going to the highest vote-getter, two to the second-highest and one to the third-highest.

A nominee must be cited on at least 75 percent of all ballots to be elected. They must receive support from at least 10 percent to remain on the 2015 ballot.

The Royals Hall of Fame was established in 1986 and contains 25 members. It revamped its balloting procedures in 2011 and now conducts its regular phase in odd-numbered years.

A Veterans Committee meets in even-numbered years to consider non-field personnel and players who previously received votes in the regular phase but no longer qualify for that ballot.

Royals Hall of Fame

(Year inducted)

1986: pitcher Steve Busby and outfielder Amos Otis

1987: manager Dick Howser, second baseman Cookie Rojas and pitcher Paul Splittorff

1989: pitcher Dennis Leonard and outfielder/designated hitter Hal McRae

1992: club president Joe Burke, pitcher Larry Gura and shortstop Fred Patek

1993: owner Ewing Kauffman

1994: third baseman George Brett

1995: second baseman Frank White

1996: owner Muriel Kauffman and first baseman John Mayberry

1998: pitcher Dan Quisenberry

2000: manager Whitey Herzog and outfielder Willie Wilson

2003: pitcher Jeff Montgomery

2004: broadcaster Denny Matthews

2005: pitcher Bret Saberhagen

2006: pitcher Mark Gubicza

2008: scout Art Stewart

2011: pitcher Kevin Appier

2012: groundskeeper George Toma