Latest news


The following outstanding student writers were honored April 15, 2000 at an awards luncheon at the Kansas City Club. Special guests included Sean and Colette Hemingway, New York City. Click here for a list of finalists, a list of our blue-ribbon judges, and other program information.

Commentary Winner

Matt Yan, is a junior and a reporter for the Saratoga Falcon at Saratoga High School in Saratoga, Calif. In addition to writing for the school paper, Matt is also a captain of Saratoga High's speech and debate team. He's won various awards in Original Oratory. He also is a staff member of Soundings, the school's literary magazine.

Matt's winning entries:

Open Worship Causes Discomfort

Education Needed To Curb Rise In Risky Teen behavior At SHS

Feature Writing Winner

Catherine Matacic is a senior at Lakota East High School in Liberty Township, Ohio, where she has been a staff member of Spark, the student paper. When she's not writing for the school paper or a community paper, the Pulse-Journal, she is onstage or behind the scenes of her school's theater. After college she plans to join the Peace Corps.

Catherine's winning entries:

A Class Of Their Own

For The Love of The Game

News Writing Winner

Sarah Pearce is a junior at Lowell High School in San Franciso where she has been a staff member of the student paper, The Lowell, since her freshman year. She has served as a reporter and opinion editor, and is currently one of the paper's news editors. In addition to working on The Lowell, she is a member of Shield and Scroll, the school's honor and service society. She hopes to pursue a career in investigative, foreign or political reporting.

Sarah's winning entries:

Discrepancy Noted In Josten's Class Ring Prices

Vendors Bid To Sell Grad Items

Sports Writing Winner

Hannah Kenser is a senior at Joliet West High School in Joliet, Ill., where she is editor-in-chief of both the school paper, Tiger Tales, and the yearbook, Alpha Omega. She has won the Illinois Journalism Education Association (IJEA) High School Journalist of the Year award, a first-place award from the National Federation of Press Women and is a member of the Teen Boardfor Joliet's local newspaper, The Herald News.

Hannah's winning entries:

Cutting Weight

Before the game

2000 Hemingway Award Finalists


  • Sam Noble, North Hall High, Gainesville, Ga.
  • Brendan Wright, Hatboro-Horsham Senior High, Horsham, Pa.
  • Chris Boothe, Elk Grove High, Elk Grove, Calif.
  • Meaghan Smith, Sunset High, Portland, Ore.
Feature Writing
  • Leana Donofrio, Lakewood High, Lakewood, Ohio.
  • Chris Catalano, Olean High, Olean, NY.
  • Paul Musgrave, F.J. Reitz High, Evansville, Ind.
  • Kathryn Roethel, Prescott High, Prescott, Ariz.
News Writing
  • Kristen Elise Pope, Center High, Antelope, Calif.
  • Marina Hennessy, Avon High, Avon, Ind.
  • Katie Strandmark, Madison Consolidated, Madison, Ind.
  • Charles E. Scott Jr., Southside College Prep Academy, Chicago, Ill.
Sports Writing
  • Dan Purschwitz, Stoughton High, Stoughton, Wis.
  • Lande Spottswood, Key West High, Key West, Fla.
  • Blake Whitney, Lakota West High, West Chester, Ohio.
  • Laurel Scheffel, Lakota East High, Liberty Township, Ohio.
The 2000 Hemingway Jury
  • Mark Zieman, editor The Kansas City Star and creator of the Ernest Hemingway Writing Awards for High SchoolJournalists.
  • Leon Dash, a professor of journalism and Afro-American Studies at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and formerly an investigative reporter at The Washington Post. His series, "Rose Lee's Story," won a Pulitzer Prize and was named one of the Top 100 Works of Journalism in the United States in the 20th Century.
  • Ted Findlay, a management consultant and motivational speaker working both inside and outside the newspaper industryl. He worked as an editor 17 years at metropolitan newspapers, including The Miami Herald. He has been a lecturer at the American PressInstitute.
  • James Gentry, dean of the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Kansas.
  • Alice Klement, national enterprise editor for The Associated Press in New York. She's written for The National Law Journal as well as The Miami Herald, has taught journalism from coast to coast and frequently lectures on writing.
  • Gene Roberts, professor of journalism at the University of Maryland, and former executive editor of both The Philadelphia Inquirer 1972-1990, and The New York Times, 1994-1998.

Other Program Information

Special Guests

Sean and Colette Hemingway, New York City

The Program

Welcoming Remarks

    Mark Zieman, Editor, The Kansas City Star
Luncheon Speaker
    Bill Turque, Newsweek

    Bill Turque, a national correspondent for Newsweek since 1996, is the author of the newly released biography Inventing Al Gore. In his Newsweek career he has covered the Clinton White House and reported on such major events as the World Trade Center blast, the U.S. missile stike against Iraq, the Whitewater scandal and the O.J. Simpson trial. As part of the news magazine's campaign coverage teams since 1987, his work has twice been nominated for a National Magazine Award. Before going to Newsweek, Turque worked as a reporter for the Dallas Times Herald and before that for The Kansas City Star.
Presentation of Awards
    Steve Shirk, Managing Editor/Local and National News

    Mary Lou Nolan, Assistant Managing Editor/Features

    Din Mann, Deputy Managing Editor/Page One

    Bill Norton, TeenStar coordinator

Kansas City Star Participants

Semi-Finalist Judges

  • Jeanne Meyer, Managing Editor/Business and Features
  • Rhonda Chriss Lokeman, Opinion-Page Editor and Columnist
  • Steve Shirk, Managing Editor/Local and National news
  • Dinn Mann, Deputy Managing Editor/Page One Editor
Awards Coordinators
  • Mark Zieman, Vice President/Editor
  • Bill Norton, TeenStar Editor
  • Lisa Lopez, Adminstrative Assistant
Awards Sponsor
  • Arthur Brisbane, president and publisher