Latest news


The following outstanding student writers were honored April 19, 1999 at an awards luncheon at the Kansas City Club. Special guests included Patrick and Carol Hemingway, Sun Valley, Idaho. Click here for a list of finalists, a list of our blue-ribbon judges, and other program information.

Commentary Winner

Nick Sheff, junior, Marin Academy, San Rafael, Calif. He spent most of his life in San Francisco, where he lived with his father and stepmother. He is a columnist for the school paper, The Marin Academy Voice Sheff recently had an essay published in the "My Turn" section of Newsweek magazine about joint custody. His favorite authors are Henry Miller, Charles Burkowski, Kurt Vonnegut, Herman Hesse, and J.D. Salinger. He is the captain of his high school water polo team. He loves music, painting, writing and reading.

Nick's winning entries:

Silver Bracelet

Parents Do Matter

Feature Writing Winner

Rick Bateman, senior, Lakota East High, Liberty Township, Ohio. He is the managing editor of the school newspaper, Spark Newsmagazine and has written numberous award-winning stories. Bateman also is an honor student. In his spare time, he reads and plays trivia games and hockey.

Rick's winning entries:

Telling Ghost Stories

Skeletons out of the closet

News Writing Winner

Jonathan Warren Emmet Darman, senior, Potomac School, McLean, VA. He will enter Harvard University in the fall. Darman is editor-in-chief of The Current Potomac's student newspaper. He is the leader of The Magnificent Seven, a student-run a cappella group, and a member of the Potomack Madrigal Singers. Darman has also been a member of Potomac's student government. Darman's summer employment has included service as a U.S. Senate page and as a member of the news desk in the Washington bureau of The Wall Street Journal.

Jonathan's winning entries:

'Mutual Agreement' Sparks Ondrof's Departure, Controversy

Dr. Wright to Leave after 1999

Sports Writing Winner

Jennifer Song, senior, Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring, Md. She is the co-editor-in-chief of Blair's newspaper, Silver Chips. She is the vice president of Blair's chapter of the National Honor Society and was captain of the girls' varsity tennis team last fall. She is a senator for the student government association and has played piano for the past 12 years. Jennifer enjoys writing, hiking, singing and reading. She plans to major in medicine, business or journalism in college.

Jennifer's winning entries:

Hall of Famer comes off the bench for teachers

There's No Place Like Being In The Zone

1999 Hemingway Award Finalists

  • Ruth DeGolia, Cleveland Heights High, Cleveland Heights, OH.
  • Tamara Johnson, Valley Academy, Phoenix, AZ.
  • Wil Loftis, R.J. Reynolds High, Winston-Salem, NC.
  • Clay Martin, Grapevine High, Grapevine, TX.
Feature Writing
  • Jennifer Zeltmann, Westhampton Beach High, Westhampton Beach, NY.
  • Megan Bartlett, Shawnee Mission North, Overland Park, KS.
  • Matthew Smith, Montgomery Blair High, Silver Spring, MD.
News Writing
  • Kimberly Minugh, Capistrano Valley High, Mission Viejo, CA.
  • Ann Winzenburgh, Naperville Central High, Naperville, IL.
  • Katharine Baker, Jordan High, Durham, NC.
  • Jana Zabkova, Lakewood High, Lakewood, OH.
Sports Writing
  • Adam Trumble, H.H. Dow High, Midland, MI.
  • Nicole L. Tieri, Unity Christian High, Hudsonville, MI.
  • Rachel Laskow, Westfield High, Westfield, NJ.
  • Dan Stone, Granite Bay High, Granite Bay, CA.

The 1999 Hemingway Jury

  • Mark Zieman, editor The Kansas City Star and creator of the Ernest Hemingway Writing Awards for High School Journalists.

  • Dean Mills, dean of the School of Journalism, the University of Missouri, Columbia.

  • Clarence Page, nationally syndicated columnist and member of the editorial page of the Chicago Tribune winner of the 1989 Pulizer Prize for Commentary.

  • Rick Lyman, former reporter and editor at The Kansas City Star, former Africa correspondent for the Philadelphia Inquirer, now Houston bureau chief of The New York Times.

  • Jodi Enda, White House correspondent for the Knight Ridder bureau in Washington. Spent the last year covering the impeachment and trial of President Clinton.

  • Joe McGuff, former editor of The Kansas City Star, longtime sports editor and columnist, inductee as a writer into the Baseball Hall of Fame at Cooperstown, NY.
Other Program Information

Special Guests

Patrick and Carol Hemingway, Sun Valley, Idaho.

The Program

Welcoming Remarks

    Mark Zieman

    editor, The Kansas City Star
Luncheon Speaker
    James Fallows

    James Fallows is an award-winning journalist and author. Most recently, he was editor of U.S. News & World Report, a position he held for two years until June 1998. Before that, he was the Washington editor of The Atlantic Monthly. An article he wrote for The Atlantic led to his most recent book, Breaking the News: How the Media Undermine American Democracy, published in January 1996. His book, National Defense published in 1981, won the American Book Award for nonfiction, He has been a regular weekly commentator for national Public Radio's Morning Edition since 1987. He is now working with Microsoft on a software program for writers.
Presentation of Awards
    Jeanne Meyer, Managing editor/business and features

    Steve Shirk, Managing editor/local and national news

    Rhonda Chriss Lokeman, opinion page

    Michelle Voepel, sports

Kansas City Star Participants

Semi-Finalist Judges:

  • Jeanne Meyer, managing editor/business and features
  • Rhonda Chriss Lokeman, opinion-page editor and columnist
  • Steve Shirk, managing editor/local and national news
  • Michelle Voepel, sports writer
Awards Coordinators
  • Mark Zieman, vice president/editor
  • Bill Norton, TeenStar editor
  • Lisa Lopez, adminstrative assistant
Awards Sponsor
  • Arthur Brisbane, president and publisher