Latest news


The following outstanding student writers were honored April 18, 1998 at an awards luncheon at the Kansas City Club. Special guests included Jack and Angela Hemingway, Sun Valley, Idaho. Click here for a list of finalists, a list of our blue-ribbon judges, and other program information.

Commentary Winner

Patrick Raymond, senior, Rutland High School, Rutland, Vt. Growing up, Patrick had a passion for writing and a desire to improve the world. Two years ago he found a way to connect the two when he joined the staff of The Red & White. He is now its editor-in-chief. In his first editorial, ``A Silent Injustice,'' he described how gay teens silently suffered harassment and abuse. In that essay heachieved what he had always hoped to do: he made readers think. He plans to pursue journalism next year in college.

Patrick's winning entries:

Cold Feet

A Silent Injustice

Feature Writing Winner

John Woody, junior, Ashbrook High School, Gastonia, N.C. When John isn't working on his A average or winning all-conference honors as a guard on his football team or playing for Ashbrook's tennis team or being student body vice president, he is co-editor of Wavelengths. He described Ernest Hemingway as ``one of my favorite writers'' after reading The Old Man and the Sea. Now he is thinking about a career in magazines. ``They interest me more than newspapers because I can have more freedom with the writing and layout design.''

John's winning entries:

Battling image


News Writing Winner

Alexander Ginsberg, junior, Winston Churchill High School, Potomac, Md. This is Alex's second national writing award. Last year one of his stories from The Churchill Observer won first place in the Los Angeles Times National Scholastic Press Association Story of the Year competition. Next year he'll be the editor-in-chief of the Observer. Alex is also an accomplished athlete. Last year he and his tennis doubles partner were ranked first in 16-and-under junior doubles competition in the Mid-Atlantic region.

Alexander's winning entries:

Survey shows widespread drug use

Parking: Students find wealth and opportunity in the black market world of selling parking permits

Sports Writing Winner

Brendan Fitzgibbons, sophomore, Hillcrest High School, Dallas. Brendan has two passions: sports and journalism. He lettered as an outside linebacker on the football team and iscaptain and leading scorer on the Hillcrest lacrosse team. Out of uniform, he helps edit the sports page of the award-winning Hillcrest Hurricane. He is also a member of the National Honor Society, Hillcrest Young Life and the college Bound Scholars Club. Each summer Brendan spends a week on a misson project with his church youth group.

Brendan's winning entries:

Playing Into God's Hands

Instant Success Stories

1998 Hemingway Award Finalists


  • Joshua Hawley, Rockhurst High School, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Seth Fisher, Wylie E. Groves High School, Beverly Hills, Mich.
  • Keisha Stanford, Henry Grady High School, Atlanta Ga.
  • Zach Dayhuff, Westminister High School, Westminister, Colo.
  • Kenneth Reinker, Wheeler High School, Marietta, Ga.
Feature Writing
  • Katie Hui, Horizon High School, Thornton, Colo.
  • Mathew Hansen, Red Cloud High School, Red Cloud, Neb.
  • Pat Healy, Grosse Pointe South High, Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich.
  • Ya Chang Chen, High School of Finance, New York, N.Y.
  • April Follmer, Grand Island Senior High, Grand Island, Neb.
News Writing
  • Jennifer Dusenberry, Hillcrest High School, Dallas, Tx.
  • Stacy Reicherts, Albert Lea Sr. High School, Albert Lea, Minn.
  • Andrea Lapham, Abraham Lincoln High School, Council Bluffs, Ia.
  • Nicole Crabtree, Salem High School, Virginia Beach, Va.
Sports Writing
  • Kyle Nagel, Centerville High School, Centerville, Ohio.
  • Dudley Brown, Spartanburg High School, Spartanburg, S.C.
  • Sheena Dooley, Albert Lea High School, Albert Lea, Minn.
  • Davielle Bell, Center High School, Antelope, Calif.

The 1998 Hemingway Jury

  • Mark Zieman, editor and vice president of The Kansas City Star.

  • James Gentry, dean of the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Kansas.

  • Leonard Pitts Jr, Washington-based columnist for the Miami Herald and Knight Ridder Newspapers.

  • Madeleine Blais, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist formerly with the Miami Herald, author of the best-selling book, In These Girls Hope Is a Muscle and professor of journalism at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

  • Bill Turque, former Kansas City Star reporter, now Washington correspondent for Nesweek, on leave writing a biography of Vice President Al Gore.

  • Joe McGuff, former editor of The Kansas City Star. Joe has been inducted into the Missouri Press Association Hall of Fame and the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y. He is a director of the Kansas City Royals baseball team.

Other Program Information

Special Guests

Jack and Angela Hemingway, Sun Valley, Idaho.

The Program

Welcoming Remarks

    Mark Zieman

    Editor of The Kansas City Star
Luncheon Speaker
    Jim Steele, Times Inc.

    James B. Steele is the Kansas City half of what the Washington JournalismReview described as ``almost certainly the best team in the history of investigative reporting.'' Working for 27 years with Donald L. Barlett, first at the Philadelphia Inquirer, and now at Time Magazine, Steele has captured nearly every major journalism award with deeply researched and analyzed reports on subjects as diverse as the IRS, nuclear waste and the financial woes of America's middle class. Steele began his career as a teen columnist for the Kansas City Star.
Presentation of Awards
    Bill Norton, TeenStar coordinator

    Jeanne Meyer, managing editor/Business and Features

    Steve Shirk, managing editor/News

    Mike Vaccaro, sports columnist

Kansas City Star Participants

Semi-Finalist Judges:

  • Jeanne Meyer, managing editor/business and features
  • Rhonda Chriss Lokeman, Op-Ed editor and columnist
  • Steve Shirk, managing editor/local/national news
  • Mike Vacarro, sports writer
Awards Coordinators
  • Mark Zieman, vice president/editor
  • Bill Norton, TeenStar editor
  • Lisa Lopez, adminstrative assistant
  • Jean Dodd, deputy managing editor/visuals, Award and Certificate Designer
Awards Sponsor
  • Arthur Brisbane, president and publisher