Latest news


The following outstanding student writers were honored April 13, 1996 at an awards luncheon at the Kansas City Club. Special guests included Patrick Hemingway of Bozeman, Montana, the son of Ernest Hemingway. Click here for a list of finalists, a list of our blue-ribbon judges and other program information.

Commentary Winner

Amber Hunt is a senior at Bettendorf High School in Bettendorf, Iowa. Since the time she helped found her middle school's student publication five years ago, Amber has been heavily involved with journalism. She is the editor-in-chief of the Bettendorf Growl, and has written for the Quad-City Times, and the River-Cities' Reader. Amber plans to major in print journalism and, she says, ``become a greater journalism guru than even Ben Bradlee.''

Amber's winning entries:

Media's glorification of rape violates true victims

Students need haven to deal with society's outrageous drug problem

Feature Writing Winner

Elaine Tran is a senior at Alief Hastings High School in Houston, Texas. For years, Elaine has prepared herself for a career in broadcast journalism and the law. ``I remember waching the news with my father and seeing Connie Chung describing the events of the day,'' she said. She's active in a slew of extra-curricular activities, including speech and debate, mock trial, and the school newspaper. Elaine was a finalist at the Harvard University 1995 speech and debate tournament. She has spent hundreds of hours volunteering at a teen hotline.

Elaine's winning entries:

Thou Shalt Not Steal

Murderer Times Two

News Writing Winner

Ryan Brooks is a senior at Enloe High School in Raleigh, N.C. Ryan's career path is clear: ``Journalism is my passion,'' he says. ``To me, a career in journalism would be the ideal combination of my love for writing and a need to be where the action is.'' Ryan has worked on his high school paper, The Eagle's Eye, and as a ``cyber-journalist'' for the Raleigh News & Observer's online student newspaper, NandoNext.

Ryan's winning entries:

JROTC: Missing in Action at Enloe?

Education legislation takes effect

Sports Writing Winner

Scott Palmer is a senior at Westlake High School in Austin, Texas. Scott is the sports editor for The Featherduster, Westlake's newsmagazine. Among many other awards, Scott received the 1995 Sports Story of the Year Award from The Los Angeles Times/National Scholastic Press Association and was named a National Winner in the sports category by Quill and Scroll. He has served as an attorney for the Westlake Municipal Teen Court and is a camp counselor during the summer.

Scott's winning entries:

A League of His Own

God and Games

1996 Hemingway Award Finalists


  • Daniel London, West Bloomfield High School, West Bloomfield, Mich.
  • Stephen Sachs, Clayton High School, Clayton, Mo.
  • Marc Simon, Bexley High School, Bexley, Ohio
  • Jessica Wojcik, Fortuna Union High School, Fortuna, Ca.
Feature Writing
  • Leah Baltus, West Bloomfield High School, West Bloomfield, Mich.
  • Heather Bozimowski, Bishop Foley High School, Madison Heights, Mich.
  • Tamara Keith, Hanford High School, Hanford, Ca.
  • Virginia Lam, King George High School, King George, Va.
News Writing
  • Duane Keys, Mansfield High School, Mansfield, Mo.
  • Hoang Nguyen, Alhambra High School, Alhambra, Ca.
  • Jenny Springs, Jordan High School, Durham, N.C.
  • Jessica Thompson, St. Louis Park High School, St. Louis Park, Minn.
Sports Writing
  • Jason Franchuk, Centaurus High School, LaFayette, Co.
  • Raymond R. Gilliar, Great Neck North High School, Great Neck, NY
  • Joey Meyer, Jordan High School, Durham, N.C.
  • Michael Thier, Jericho High School, Jericho, NY

The 1996 Hemingway Jury

  • Betty Winston Baye, an editorial writer and columnist for The Courier-Journal in Louisville, Kentucky. Betty also is a novelist, a frequent contributer to Essence magazine and has taught journalism at Hunter College. She currently hosts her own local television talk show.

  • Art Brisbane, vice president and editor of The Kansas City Star.

  • Pam Johnson, managing editor of The Arizona Republic-Phoenix Gazette. Pam is a member of the executive board of the Associated Press Managing Editors.

  • Mike Kautsch, dean of the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Kansas.

  • Robert McGruder, executive editor of The Detroit Free-Press. Bob is president of the Associated Press Managing Editors and a member of the National Association of Minority Media Executives.

  • Joe McGuff, former editor of The Kansas City Star. Joe has been inducted into the Missouri Press Association Hall of Fame and the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY. He is a director of the Kansas City Royals baseball team.

Other Program Information

Special Guests

Patrick and Carol Hemingway, Bozeman, Montana.

The Program

    Welcoming Remarks

      Art Brisbane

      Editor of The Kansas City Star
    Hemingway, Kansas City and The Star

      Mark Zieman, Managing Editor/News
    Presentation of Awards

      Art Brisbane

      Patrick Hemingway

Kansas City Star Participants

Semi-Finalist Judges:

  • Jane Amari, Managing Editor/features and design
  • Rhonda Chriss Lokeman, Op-Ed editor and columnist
  • Mike McGraw, Reporting Coach and investigative reporter
  • Jason Whitlock, Sports Columnist

Awards Coordinators

  • Mark Zieman, Managing Editor/News
  • Lisa Lopez, Administrative Assistant

Award and Certificate Designer

  • Jean Moxam, assistant managing editor for design

Awards Sponsor

  • Robert C. Woodworth, publisher