Back to Rockville

Ink's Middle of Map Fest lineup for this year announced

Organizers of Ink magazine's eighth annual Middle of the Map Fest have announced the 2018 lineup, and much of it will take place in a new locale. Punk veterans Social Distortion and indie-rock stalwarts Grizzly Bear, Spoon and Built to Spill are among the headliners.

This year’s festival will be June 29-30. The main-stage events will take place in the pavilion at Crown Center, where there will also be a secondary stage. Tickets go on sale at 10 a.m. Friday via Ticketmaster.

The lineups:

Friday, June 29

Main stage: Grizzly Bear, Spoon, Greta Van Fleet and Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith.

Second stage: Y God Y, Various Blonde and the Noise FM.

Saturday, June 30

Main stage: Social Distortion, Built to Spill, Nikki Lane, Aaron Lee Tasjan, Jade Jackson and Becca Mancari.

Second stage: Olivia Fox, Mess, Rachel Mallin & the Wild Type and the Sluts.

In addition, bands will perform each night at the RecordBar, 1520 Grand Blvd.; the Brick, 1727 McGee St.; and the Black Dolphin, 1813 Grand Blvd.

The Friday night bands: Belle & the Vertigo Waves, Brandon Phillips and the Condition, the Paul Shinn Trio, the Beholders and the Brummies.

The Saturday night bands: Chase the Horseman, Fullbloods, Lung, the Paul Shinn Trio, Pink Royal, Sports, the Fey and Wonderfuzz.

A full schedule with starting times and places will be released soon.

Saturday, more than two dozen bands will perform at several day parties at the Brick, RecordBar, Black Dolphin, Messenger Coffee, Josey Records, Rez Downtown and Empire Sounds Studio, all in the Crossroads Arts District, and Mills Record Company in Westport.

Ink's Middle of the Map Fest launched in April 2011, primarily at venues in Westport. It has since enlisted venues all over Kansas City, including the Uptown Theater, the Midland theater, the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts and Crossroads KC.

Performers have included De La Soul, Daniel Johnston, Cursive, the Raveonettes, Murder By Death, Neon Indian, Fun, Mission of Burma, Deerhoof, Gary Numan, Of Montreal, Del the Funky Homosapien, Iron & Wine, Lord Huron, OK Go, Leon Bridges, Aimee Mann, Charles Bradley, Manchester Orchestra, Jason Isbell and Talib Kweli.