Varsity Zone

The best source for high school sports in the Kansas City area

Shrine Bowl Selections

01/09/2014 4:49 PM

01/09/2014 4:51 PM

Three coaches and 13 high school football players from the Metro area have been selected to represent their teams in the 2014 Kansas Shrine Bowl. The game will be played in Carney Smith Stadium at Pittsburg State University on July 26, 2014 at 7 p.m.

Chris Stewart of McLouth was selected as the head coach of the East squad. He will be joined by Mike Gillman of Lawrence Free State and Joel Applebee of Mill Valley.

The list of local players includes: Khalil Bailey of Lansing, Jalen Cooks of Blue Valley, Coltyn Gatton of Mill Valley, Nathan Guthrie of Olathe East, Brad Ivey of Bishop Miege, Keith Loneker of Lawrence Free State, Nick McAferty of McLough, Jason Randall of Leavenworth, Cody Snyder of Tonganoxie, Jaquwan Stone of Blue Valley Northwest, Tyson Toelkes of Shawnee Heights, Mitchell Tyler of Shawnee Mission East and Traevohn Wrench of Gardner Edgerton.

Complete Rosters:


Khalil Bailey, Lansing High; Parker Bass, Emporia High; Chad Berg, Baldwin High; Paul Berry, Turner High; Brendon Blackburn, Fort Scott High; Kenny Brown, Caney Valley High; Jalen Cooks, Blue Valley High; Trey Ellis, Chanute High; Coltyn Gatton, Mill Valley High; Nathan Guthrie, Olathe East High; Brad Ivey, Bishop Miege High; Matt Jones, Marais Des Cygnes Valley High; Dailin Kruger, Silver Lake High; Keith Loneker, Lawrence Free State High; Earl Mariner, Washburn Rural High; Nick McAferty, McLouth High; Payton Newell, Hiawatha High; James Newton, Field Kindley High; Ethan Paul-Davis, Pittsburg High; Xavi Ramos, Hayden High ; Jason Randall, Leavenworth High; Jake Riederer, Holton High; J T Rosine, Centralia High; Dustin Rottinghaus, B B High; Justin Scott, Jefferson West High; Cody Snyder, Tonganoxie High; Jaquwan Stone, Blue Valley NW High; Chance Stout, Olpe High; Tristan Thornton, Cherryvale High; Austin Tillman, Topeka High; Tyson Toelkes, Shawnee Heights High; Mitchell Tyler, SM East High; Joe Walsh, Lyndon High; Traevohn Wrench, Gardner-Edgerton High.


Chris Stewart (head), McLouth High; Mike Gillman, Lawrence Free State High; Joel Applebee, Mill Valley High

; Murray Zogg, Field Kindley High; Harry Hester, Cherryvale High; Rod Stallbaumer, Lyndon High.


Riley Allen, Buhler High; Aderio Ammons, Wichita Heights High; Scott Beecher, Medicine Lodge High; Nick Benford, Maize High; Sean Bernard, Wichita North High; Bryce Black, Beloit High; Trever Buckner, Andale High; Cole Cruz, Hutchinson High; Jose Delgado, Derby High; Patrick Dugan, Bishop Carroll High; Tre Griffin, Wichita Southeast High; Trenton Hammond, Liberal High; Alex Jackson, Andover High; Semaj Johnson, Junction City High; Warren Kropp, Scott Community High; Sam LaFleur, Kapaun-Mt. Carmel High; Garrett Larson, McPherson High; Michael Mason, Mulvane High; Logan Mays, Winfield High; Trevon Mitchell, Wichita West High; Zach Nachbar, Salina South High; Brandon Nowlin, Manhattan High; Morgan Olvera, Meade High; Ethan Roth, Conway Springs High; Ryan Schadler, Hesston High; Greyson Temble, Garden City High; Heath Tucker, Holcomb High; Kenton Ubelaker, Osborne High; Malik Veal, Salina Central High; Dalton Walker, Wallace County High; Nick Warren, Great Bend High; DeSean Washington, Maize South High; Preston Weigel, Hays High; Morgan Wheeler, Marion High.


Steve Martin (head), Wichita Northwest High; Nate Wollenberg, Newton High; Terry Harrison, Wichita Heights High; Steve Werner, Buhler High; Greg Koenig, Beloit High; Scott Moshier, Meade High.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service