Red Zone

The Chiefs and NFL by beat writer Terez Paylor

Chiefs’ ‘Mount Rushmore:’ Who got snubbed? (poll)

06/25/2013 9:47 AM

07/11/2013 12:50 PM

NBC Sports’ Pro Football Talk website has been compiling “Mount Rushmores” of all 32 NFL franchises, asking fans to vote for the most important icons of their teams and picking a final four.

PFT recently unveiled

the Chiefs’ edition, and it goes like this:

Hank Stram, Len Dawson, Tony Gonzalez and Derrick Thomas.

Stram, Dawson and Thomas are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame and Gonzalez is likely headed to Canton, though he never won a playoff game as a Chief unlike the other three. And of course Stram and Dawson are the only Chiefs on the list who were part of the Super Bowl IV championship.

PFT originally had Hall of Fame linebacker Willie Lanier, another member of the Chiefs’ glory era of the late 1960s and early 1970s, on the list but couldn’t decide whether to leave off Gonzalez or Thomas.

Other contenders? Well, you can start with the founder. Not only of the Chiefs but the entire American Football League, Lamar Hunt. And then there’s the rest of the Chiefs’ contingent in Canton: linebacker Bobby Bell, defensive tackle Buck Buchanan, kicker Jan Stenerud and cornerback Emmitt Thomas.

What do you think? Sound off in the comments below.

Join the Discussion

The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service